Setting up a remote FTP server on windows 2003

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, i do have a Linksys ISR, windows 2003 enterprise edition and a Public IP address. I would like to setup an FTp site on the windows 2003 pc using my public IP. I successfully managed to do it over the LAN and both downloads and uploads are fine however when it comes to setting it up over the Internet i terribly misfire. I do not have any experience in setting up a public IP and i do not know how to configure it on the machine so that it's accessible over the internet.
any help will be more than appreciated.

I am not an expert on this subject, but have you opened up a specific port on the Linksys router for your remote FTP Client to get into the LAN and be forwarded to the FTP Server? My router requires this for an remote application to get into the network.

in the router, port forward port 21 to the lan ip address of the win2k server.

the user will have to enter PASS or PASV immediate after login in
(see this explanation)

Remote FTp site on win 2003

The ports are open and the port forwarding option enabled on the router.
Are there any possibilities that the Public IP address i have may not have been configured for access by my ISP?

AFAIK the isp doesn't get involved with your IP in that way, but i couldn't state that as fact.
When you say 'terribly misfire' what exactly do you mean?
Does it reach the ftp site but not allow login?
Does it timeout trying to connect to the ftp site?
Are you using a proper ftp client or just your internet browser?
More info please.

Remote FTp site on win 2003