TechSpot

Should I buy an ASUS A8N-SLI or the DELUXE or PREMIUM versions?

By AING
May 29, 2006
  1. Would appreciate your opinions!

2. wolfram

wolfram TechSpot Paladin Posts: 1,967   +9

It depends on your budget and your CPU. If you have a Sempron CPU, get the deluxe model, if not, get the Premium one. It has 2 PCIeX16 slots, in case you want SLI.

Here they are so you can compare them:

DELUXE

PREMIUM

Good luck on your choice!

3. AING

AING TS Rookie Topic Starter

Many Thanks

I was just looking at a tech review and that along with wolframs help has made my choice.

Premium it is!!

I am a Newbie - first time builder.

I'll be mostly reading a lot of your threads on all subjects and will only bother the community with "HOPEFULLY" only intelligent questions.

Thanks once again, Wolfram!

4. DonNagual

DonNagual TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 2,404

For most people, I'd actually recommend the plain A8N-SLI. I have the deluxe version, and personally never use any of the extra features it includes over the plain version. Dual LAN? Don't need it. 4 SATA ports? I don't need that many.

You can save your money and get the regular A8N-SLI. It is identical to the deluxe in every other way.

The premium does have one nice difference though. It uses passive cooling on it's chipset. Personally, I love a quiet system, and think this is a good upgrade, however keep in mind that your case is going to need some good circulation if you use this motherboard.

Good luck!

5. wolfram

I agree with him. I hope you have good ventilation on your case, and you want to build a silent system go for it!

I´m glad we could help you! If you have any problems with your new machine, let us know and we´ll do our best to help you.

Good luck! :wave:

6. AING

AING TS Rookie Topic Starter

Thanks Again, gentlemen!

I most definitely will be back with questions as time goes by and my system comes together, once again thank you both.

Aing.

7. wolfram

Good luck!