Should I go for a PC upgrade or a PS3?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MARKMAKAVELI

Hi,

Well im new to all this and my debate is whether I get a ps3 or can just upgrade my pc.

I mainly wanna play pro evo 8 but I did a test on a game that I thought would be more demanding (HALO 2) as I dont want any problems arising.

here are my results attached, if you could be so kind as to look at them and tell me

a) is it worth upgrading
b) how much £ im looking at

much appreciated!

Mark
View attachment test spec.txt

I am a PC fan so I'll give my biased opinion. :D

I would definitly get another gig of RAM.

Your video card needs a serious upgrade (does your motherboard handle PCI-Express cards?).

Processor should be fine but if your video card is a BIG upgrade then your cpu may bottle neck it.

Make sure you have a power supply that 1) supplies enough power for a video card upgrade and 2) is stable.

I think you should up ur pc because the games out for the ps3 are bad so if you dont wanna wait up ur pc.

lol

PES2008 is reportably terrible on the PS3 at the moment with crazy slowdowns in corner kicks and replays! The X360 version (not that you go there) also suffers from slowdown, and using the x360 analogue simply doesn't work with the games 8 way movement

I've played PES on PC since PES4. PES2008 is flawless on my old AMD 3500+/1gbRAM/256MB 6800GT at 1024x768/Highest quality. If you can upgrade to 1gb RAM and nvidia 7 series graphics card like 7900GT then you'll be able to run it fine! And it would cost a lot less then a PS3...

Hi Guys.

Well it seems that i am in the same situation, im stuck between spending a spending money every few months on pc components or just going and buying an xbox 360. I'm not a fan of consoles and I've been pc gaming for 6 years now so its a tough call.........

I would definitely get another gig of RAM. – is eBay the best bet?