TechSpot

SK Hynix unveils 128 GB DDR4 module

By Scorpus
Apr 8, 2014
Post New Reply
  1. It may still be a few years before we see proper DDR4 adoption in the consumer space, but some memory manufacturers are certainly gearing up for the onslaught of motherboards supporting the improved memory spec. SK Hynix is one such...

    Read more
     
  2. cliffordcooley

    cliffordcooley TS Guardian Fighter Posts: 8,549   +2,894

    So what we are doing is eliminating the need for paging/caching. All work will be done from memory and then stored to SSD.
     
  3. wastedkill

    wastedkill TS Evangelist Posts: 1,389   +329

    Ohh I will be getting one of those when they come out :3
     
  4. Skidmarksdeluxe

    Skidmarksdeluxe TS Evangelist Posts: 6,475   +2,033

    Do you really need 128GB of RAM or just like to brag about having it? :)
     
  5. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder This guy again... Posts: 2,191   +590

    My head just exploded at the thought of a 128gb ram stick.
     
  6. RustyTech

    RustyTech TS Guru Posts: 865   +434

    Ladies..Gents!! You are all thinking in terms of a single stick. I'd like to talk about Duel Channel and how about Quad!!?? Now we're cooking with gas..err..jet fuel?? LOL
     
  7. Nima304

    Nima304 TS Guru Posts: 365   +81

    I don't even need 16GBs of RAM. I could afford it without messing up my finances, and so I bought it so I could brag about it. If 128GBs is reasonably priced, I'll be buying it.
     
  8. 9Nails

    9Nails TechSpot Paladin Posts: 1,212   +174

    Think of all the VM's I could be hosting from that baby! And to fill up banks of server dimms with these? /drool
     
  9. Skidmarksdeluxe

    Skidmarksdeluxe TS Evangelist Posts: 6,475   +2,033

    So did you impress anybody barring yourself with it yet? And if you think 128GB of DDR4 is gonna be 'reasonably priced' you could be in for a rude awakening.
     
    wastedkill likes this.
  10. Nima304

    Nima304 TS Guru Posts: 365   +81

    With RAM prices these days, people look a little wistful when I say I have 16GBs of pretty high-end RAM (Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz). And I know it will cost a ton now, but what about three years from now? I'm pretty sure it'll be affordable for the average consumer by then.
     
  11. wastedkill

    wastedkill TS Evangelist Posts: 1,389   +329

    I have 32GB of ram currently and I am using around 8GB with just chrome open, I would mainly use it for server stuff like VM's and plus the more ram I have the more crap I can have open.

    Plus the PC I am getting ready to build will be insane.... plus I hate a slow PC I love performance at maximum and with this new build I wont need to upgrade in roughly 10years or more specially with the 60TB 3.5" HDD coming in 2016!
     
    RenGood08 likes this.
  12. Jad Chaar

    Jad Chaar TS Evangelist Posts: 6,477   +965

    The main point of this RAM would be for things like VMs and intense simulations.
     
    wastedkill likes this.
  13. Raoul Duke

    Raoul Duke TS Guru Posts: 930   +354

    With memory amounts like this, I'm thinking a RAMDisk that is capable of holding the entire OS. Not sure how that would work though, because the AMD RAMDisk app requires a running OS, then you can install items to it. Anyone know?
     
  14. avioza

    avioza TS Enthusiast Posts: 74   +23

    It may not be needed for most users right now but I have heard the same argument many times over the years... I recall a friend saying "Why would you ever need more than 20MB of hard drive space?"

    Eventually it will be utilized. It would be nice to see SSD's make an improvement in price/size ratios as well.
     
    wastedkill likes this.
  15. Skidmarksdeluxe

    Skidmarksdeluxe TS Evangelist Posts: 6,475   +2,033

    You gotta learn to be flexible, a lot of things can happen between now and 2016 and I don't only mean techwise.
     
  16. Does anyone remember the days when 128MB RAM was an overkill? My guess is that in a few years time 128GB will be gobbled up by memory hungry apps and other in-memory processing software. Don't fret...developers will make use of it. Yes paging may go out the window too ( pun intended).
     
    BetaguyGZT likes this.
  17. BetaguyGZT

    BetaguyGZT TS Rookie

    RamDisk. That's how I'd use it. :D
     
  18. ikesmasher

    ikesmasher TS Evangelist Posts: 2,549   +852

    Is there any reason this couldnt be used for harder storage? I mean its meant to survive more reads/writes and be faster right? im sure it has something to do with controllers or what not but im just curious.
     
  19. Puiu

    Puiu TS Evangelist Posts: 1,901   +528

    I'm pretty sure you'll be upgrading it in about 5 years. ^_^
     
  20. Raf Kireyev

    Raf Kireyev TS Rookie

    By the time when there will start to appear new motherboards customer systems will need a couple of these modules. For example, just think about 4K or 8K video.
     
  21. Skidmarksdeluxe

    Skidmarksdeluxe TS Evangelist Posts: 6,475   +2,033

    Yeah, to 4 gig :)
     
    Puiu likes this.
  22. war59312

    war59312 TS Booster Posts: 117

    Would love to have 1.

    Would use as a RAM sick as well. Would load entire VMs into RAM.

    You could also play an entire game from RAM. Why install at all if you can just run from RAM.

    Same with loading 4K video right into RAM.

    TimeScapes is 160GB which is very much compressed 4K video. So I need 2 128GB sticks just to load it.

    An uncompressed 4k Movie @ 24fps, 2 hours in length, requires 3.44 TB of disk space. That is 1.72 TB an hour. Source: http://web.forret.com/tools/video_f...interlace=on&depth=12&title=Digital+Cinema+4K

    Just a few ideas as to why I need 128GB sticks of RAM.

    Even 128GB is too small though for my blood. I need PB sicks. ;)

    Why, see: http://nofilmschool.com/2012/04/nab-2012-day-3-recap-4k-raw-data-rates/

    So yea. Now imagine 8k. :D
     
  23. RenGood08

    RenGood08 TS Booster Posts: 185   +13

    Wow! That's incredible! It encourages me to build my own PC more and more lol. I love my laptop, but I would like to build my own computer. I especially would like something between 12 and 16 GB of ram so I can fit all my games and VMs on there. I like dabbling with Linux and servers. I'm a gamer at heart...but I think 128 GB of RAM is ttoo much. What on Earth would you use it for???? To use that much RAM you'd have to buy every game known to man and then build like 20 VMs lol. I dunno...I'd be happy with 12 or 16 so I know my system isn't being slowed by my games. (I currently run an ASUS laptop with 4 GB of RAM and I have 8 games on my Steam account and Diable 3 on my Battle.net account...it's not very sluggish, but it's on it's way!!)
     
  24. 4K Video? Many won't even load in 1080p yet!

    I have a 4K "capable" GPU, what good is it when Web content that many of us watches, such as YouTube videos, news clips are 720p & even the 2014 Super Bowl was streamed in 1080p?
     
  25. cliffordcooley

    cliffordcooley TS Guardian Fighter Posts: 8,549   +2,894

    4K video editing maybe. No one needs more than 8G to watch 4K video.
     

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...