Spyware Guard 2008, can't run the 8-steps

Status
Not open for further replies.

azrogue

Spyware Guard 2008, can't run the 8-steps (EDIT: Now with Logs)

Hello, I'm a minor IT Tech in the Health industry and was given a home PC by one of my doctors that is heavily infected and that he would like me to clean for him as a favor. I recommended he reformat and reinstall his Windows XP Professional but he has pictures and such on the machine that he doesn't want to lose and would like me to make the attempt.

Also, I've cleaned numerous machines in the past and, since this is a favor, I am treating this as a learning experience and taking a bit of enjoyment from the challenge (it's easier when it's not MY pc that's infected, I suppose).

Now, to business. :)

I already have the current versions of mbam, ccleaner, superantispyware, hijackthis, spybot search and destroy, zonealarm, and avast burned onto a CD that I use, usually, to clean random PCs with minor malware issues. The CD also has the latest Stinger on it to run off the CD directly.

The PC itself seems to be infected by Spyware Guard 2008, at least, as that's the program that pops up constantly. I'm sure there are other issues, but that's the one that advertises itself.

For starters, the computer will not allow me to browse to any website that contains any instructions on removing ANY virus or malware infection. Once the browser begins loading the site it just shuts down completely--no error message, just closes. ALSO, I am unable to run any of my anti-malware programs from my CD, whether by trying to install directly from the disc or by copying them to my desktop. They won't work under the owner's administrator account, the new administrator account I created for myself to work from, or from the admin account under Safe Mode.