Start menu and desktop is missing

Status
Not open for further replies.

nhelp1

Hi,
By mistake I deleted some hidden files (I'm using win XP SP7). After rebooting, I lost my start menu and the desktop is empty. I can only open programs through ctrl+alt+del - Windows Taskmanager - start new task. When I try to open explorer from taskmanager I get an error - "Windows can't find explorer...". I've checked my start menu is not hidden, I've also tried pressing the Windows key on the keyboard. Is there a way to get the start menu back without doing a repair install from the OS disk. I'm not a techie and can't perform those steps required for a repair install.

You should consider trying System Restore.
Which operating system are you using?
Another option is to create a new user account, once you copy all the files over to the new account, just delete the corrupt account.

Open Start Menu, \Programs\Accessories\System Tools\System Restore
Restore to the last known good date. It will guide you from there.
Try to create a new account 1st though, it may be better.

System Restore will not work in this case. You have deleted system files. System Restore only reverts settings in the Windows registry. You need to perform a Windows Repair. For this you need a Windows XP SP3 installation CD.

Repost if you need assistance in initiating the Windows repair.

-- Andy

I have the disk that came with the laptop from the manufacture - "reinstallation cd, ms win xp home edition, service pack 2". I'm running IE 7 on my machine? Can I do it with that disk? What do I need to do? The MS website recommend remove ie 7 before during the installation, I can't get to the add/remove programs?

nhelp11,