TechSpot

Task Manager error

By Ashhot86
Mar 26, 2008
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ight, so my pc is being a bit weird. When I open task manager I can view only the applications tag. When I click on processes, I receive an error message, TaskManager has encountered an error and needs to close. Once I click it everything becomes very slow. So I did restore last known good configuration and it fixed the error so it doesnt close. But now when I open SuperAntiSpyware or CCleaner and exit after use, I have SuperAntiSpyware.exe or CCleaner.exe still running and need to manually close them. Is there some type of restriction on Task Manager that they cant close correctly or is it some Windows file missing or error.

    This is on a Windows XP Prof SP-2, and SpywareTerminator, AntiVir, Spybot and Adaware come up clean logs and HiJackThis doesnt look odd at all. BTW, ran ScanDisk and it didnt find any errors.
     
  2. kritius

    kritius TS Guru Posts: 2,087

    Post the HJT log here and ill look at it for you.
     
  3. Ashhot86

    Ashhot86 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
    Scan saved at 11:41:16 AM, on 3/26/2008
    Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v7.00 (7.00.6000.16608)
    Boot mode: Normal

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Lavasoft\Ad-Aware 2007\aawservice.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\Program Files\Avira\AntiVir PersonalEdition Classic\avguard.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Avira\AntiVir PersonalEdition Classic\avgnt.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\Comodo\CBOClean\BOC425.exe
    C:\Program Files\COMODO\Firewall\cfp.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    C:\Program Files\Avira\AntiVir PersonalEdition Classic\sched.exe
    C:\Program Files\Grisoft\AVG Anti-Spyware 7.5\guard.exe
    C:\Program Files\Comodo\CBOClean\BOCORE.exe
    C:\Program Files\COMODO\Firewall\cmdagent.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,First Home Page =
    O2 - BHO: Adobe PDF Reader Link Helper - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: Spybot-S&D IE Protection - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: SSVHelper Class - {761497BB-D6F0-462C-B6EB-D4DAF1D92D43} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_04\bin\ssv.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [avgnt] "C:\Program Files\Avira\AntiVir PersonalEdition Classic\avgnt.exe" /min
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [BOC-425] C:\PROGRA~1\Comodo\CBOClean\BOC425.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [COMODO Firewall Pro] "C:\Program Files\COMODO\Firewall\cfp.exe" -h
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_04\bin\ssv.dll
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_04\bin\ssv.dll
    O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~3\OFFICE11\REFIEBAR.DLL
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {DFB852A3-47F8-48C4-A200-58CAB36FD2A2} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Spybot - Search & Destroy Configuration - {DFB852A3-47F8-48C4-A200-58CAB36FD2A2} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
    O16 - DPF: {56762DEC-6B0D-4AB4-A8AD-989993B5D08B} (OnlineScanner Control) -
    O16 - DPF: {6E32070A-766D-4EE6-879C-DC1FA91D2FC3} (MUWebControl Class) -
    O16 - DPF: {A93D84FD-641F-43AE-B963-E6FA84BE7FE7} (LinkSys Content Update) -
    O20 - AppInit_DLLs: C:\WINDOWS\system32\guard32.dll
    O23 - Service: a-squared Free Service (a2free) - Emsi Software GmbH - C:\Program Files\a-squared Free\a2service.exe
    O23 - Service: Ad-Aware 2007 Service (aawservice) - Lavasoft - C:\Program Files\Lavasoft\Ad-Aware 2007\aawservice.exe
    O23 - Service: AntiVir PersonalEdition Classic Scheduler (AntiVirScheduler) - Avira GmbH - C:\Program Files\Avira\AntiVir PersonalEdition Classic\sched.exe
    O23 - Service: AntiVir PersonalEdition Classic Guard (AntiVirService) - Avira GmbH - C:\Program Files\Avira\AntiVir PersonalEdition Classic\avguard.exe
    O23 - Service: AVG Anti-Spyware Guard - GRISOFT s.r.o. - C:\Program Files\Grisoft\AVG Anti-Spyware 7.5\guard.exe
    O23 - Service: BOCore - COMODO - C:\Program Files\Comodo\CBOClean\BOCORE.exe
    O23 - Service: COMODO Firewall Pro Helper Service (cmdAgent) - COMODO - C:\Program Files\COMODO\Firewall\cmdagent.exe
    O23 - Service: iPod Service - Apple Inc. - C:\Program Files\iPod\bin\iPodService.exe
    O23 - Service: PD91Agent - Raxco Software, Inc. - C:\Program Files\Raxco\PerfectDisk\PD91Agent.exe
    O23 - Service: PD91Engine - Raxco Software, Inc. - C:\Program Files\Raxco\PerfectDisk\PD91Engine.exe
    O23 - Service: Spyware Terminator Realtime Shield Service (sp_rssrv) - Crawler.com - C:\Program Files\Spyware Terminator\sp_rsser.exe


    To what im seeing everything looks clean, thats why im wondering why task manager is being funky. Had to modify the websites out next to some of the -, since I only have 1 post
     
  4. kritius

    kritius TS Guru Posts: 2,087

    post the full one as an attachment using the paperclip icon.
     
  5. Ashhot86

    Ashhot86 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    ight here you go
     
  6. Ashhot86

    Ashhot86 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    no idea huh? the log is clean, just not sure y task manager is acting up and not letting programs fully close
     
  7. ZenMatrix

    ZenMatrix TS Rookie Posts: 21

    got to start and run sfc /scannow could be a corrupt sys file
     
  8. kritius

    kritius TS Guru Posts: 2,087

    Try this,

    Download to your Desktop this self-extracting ZIP archive FixPolicies.exe
    • Double-click FixPolicies.exe
    • Click the Install button on the bottom toolbar of the box that will open.
    • The program will create a new Folder called FixPolicies
    • Double-click to Open the new Folder, and then double-click the file named Fix_Policies.cmd
    • A black box will briefly appear and then close. This will enable your Control Panel, Task Manager and stop any Administrative warnings.
     
  9. Ashhot86

    Ashhot86 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    Is this the same as Dial-a-fix, when you checked the Policies. Cause I did that and it looked for Restrictive policies: Out of 142 detectable policies (1704 queries), no restrictive policies were found.
     
  10. Bobbye

    Bobbye Helper on the Fringe Posts: 16,392   +36

    Have you tried doing a double click in an empty area of the Task Manager? This restores it frequently.
     
  11. Ashhot86

    Ashhot86 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    its not an issue with seeing the task manager it was an issue with it holding processes when they should have closed properly
     
     
  12. Bobbye

    Bobbye Helper on the Fringe Posts: 16,392   +36

    So some processes are hanging? You can highlight, then End Task. You can also identify those processes and if they are on the Startup tab, uncheck so as not to start when you boot and run in the background.

    Stop:
    All the processes in the 09 category- especially the REFIEBAR.DLL> refiebar.dll is a module which allows you to use the Microsoft Office Research Library and its collection of information services from Microsoft Internet Explorer
    .
    The 3 '016' processes are all for Active X content. Disable what you don't need running in the background.

    You also run multiple spyware/adware programs and this is good. But you may want to look into what is running in Real Time. If there is more than one at a time, this has a potential for conflict.
     
  13. Ashhot86

    Ashhot86 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    I know whats starting up and not, what troubles me is say I open SuperAntiSpyware, run the update and a scan and close like normal, the process SuperAntiSpyware.exe stays running even after I completely closed it, same when I run CCleaner, it will stay open after I X it out, process CCleaner.exe will remain in processes and if I dont end them manually then when i try to run other programs it delays them like hanging. Once they get ended everything is back to normal
     
  14. Bobbye

    Bobbye Helper on the Fringe Posts: 16,392   +36

    Then the programs are either set to run all the time an/or start every time you boot. I don't use either of those programs so I can't check their settings. I suggest you open each program and check all their settings.
     
  15. Ashhot86

    Ashhot86 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    They arent autostarting cause I have had the settings checked by SAS forums and they said that should keep SuperAntiSpyware from starting up automatically and have it immediately close when you close from the tray icon. As for CCleaner, its a program to clean up temporary files, internet files, etc. It doesnt autostart on system boot, I only have 4 programs listed to start other.

    You arent understanding me, its not that they startup when I turn on the pc, I can restart it and everything is fine, its just once I open to run the program and then exit and its fully close. It happens with other applications as well, not just the 2 im talking about, those are just the 1s I use often.
     
  16. Omide

    Omide TS Rookie Posts: 37

    Dear Ashhot86,

    You Will get this error on Safe mode also ?
     
  17. Ashhot86

    Ashhot86 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    >_< I dont get the task manager error needs to close anymore, I just get applications hanging/staying open after they have been closed. As if you were playing solitaire and your finished now you either hit the X or go file - close. Instead of it closing you still have sol.exe process remaining in task manager.
     
  18. Omide

    Omide TS Rookie Posts: 37

    Sound is like you got Virus, Did you did Full Scan {Any Anti-virus} ?

    Thanks,
    Regards,
    Omide
     
  19. Ashhot86

    Ashhot86 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    yes, the pc is clean. I scanned with my AntiVir, and did a online scan with NOD32, Kaspersky, and BitDefender. They all came up clean, it seemed like Task Manager was holding the stuff from exiting correctly. That's why I was wondering if there is some type of error with 1 of the XP files
     
  20. Omide

    Omide TS Rookie Posts: 37

    I Think it kind of bug......Let me think abt it
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.