Toshiba Tecra S1: ACPI.sys Blue Screen

Status
Not open for further replies.

Route44

If you happened to read my previous post I received an old but seemily stable Toshiba Tecra S1. I have done some upgrading such as SP2, anti-virus, etc. Plus I have installed Office 2003 and it works fine. All connections including USB ports are in working order as is the DVD/CD-RW drive.

I was using this laptop over the weekend at a friend's house and one time I walked away and when I came back I had an 0x7E error. There has been no BSODs prior to this occurance. I wasn't able to read the minidump until I got home and it pointed to the ACPI.sys.

After researching it could be caused by:

1. Overheating (which was my first guess) as the driver attempts to throttle back the cpu because of heat.

2. Harddrive failing.

3. Driver controllers failing on the motherboard

* I have never had this error before and I was wondering what I can do to determine the exact cause. I have very little knowledge about laptops.

* Also, I have been wanting to diagnose the harddrive fitness since I have gotten it. Toshiba does not provide their own utility but suggests Hitachi's offering. So I burned an ISO disk with no errors but when I go to use the disk I keep getting a search error. Thw windows closes so fast I can't read what else it says.

Thanks.

Hi Route

Since you'll know what the Error Code means I don't have to list that like on other posts and you'll know that the ACPI.sys file is the Windows Power Management File if this is mentioned in all MiniDumps then I believe it is very much Hardware Related.

When testing my Laptop HDD I tried a few Different Tests even though I had Hitachi before that HDD died, I used the WD Test that is pretty good, I tried about 3 but can't remember the other I used after this I built up a Picture and worked out that it was my HDD that had gone.