Two HDDs -- boot both?

Hello i have 2 hdds me main one with Win XP SP3 and my 2ed one thats blank(was going to wut xp or win7 idk??) my question is can i boot my 2ed one and run a minecraft server on it then boot my main and use it for normal usage??? while still having the 2ed running the server??

i dont know if i should have them both win XP SP3 or main XP and 2ed 7??

please help me idk wat im doing....

Thanks,
cjmwid

P.S. i tryed to Explain as best as i could post if u need anymore information and wat information it is that you need

cjmwid:

I think now might be a good time to research "virtual machines"........

http://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Downloads

I'm no expert with this virtual machine stuff, if you want someone wise to talk about it, look up a forum member by the name of Leeky, he probably can assist you better than I can. If Leeky can't be reached, I know of several others around here who can help you.

Who knows maybe virtual machine isn't the way to go here, maybe that two drive inside one computer thing may work, I've never heard of it, but who knows.

Good luck :)

I think you're using the wrong approach, just use two computers. If you can't, I have no idea if a virtual machine would work.

Virtual machines is the way to go. I run 3 on my computer. One runs game servers, one allows me to do testing and the other for work related stuff.

Good Luck, oh and I too use VirtualBox!

Whilst it is possible to boot off either HDD, not many boot loaders can do that well, the reason being that normally your PC will boot off the drive that is top of the boot order in the bios. So in effect, you are asking the boot loader to swap the order of drives as defined in the bios - every time.

The situation gets worse if the two drives you refer to are on different channels - as one being IDE the other being SATA for instance.