Ubuntu/XP/7 tri-boot.. interested?

lpmjames

yea i did that on my ic7-g custom just about a week ago after completing the build over a month ago.. its nice.. i love it.... only issue is that ubuntu wont load the wireless driver.. annoying but i will figure it out.. 7 is the shhht.. im sure most of us agree.. also it wouldnt upgrade from xp of course.. {vista.. ******* vista} .. im new to the linux/ubuntu thing so any direction would be good.. also i started this thread mainly to get any feedback / advice in exploring ubuntu..
specs:
ic7-g motherboard
intel pentium 4 .. 2.8ghz
3gb ddr@160mhz
256 ati raedon x1050 + nvidia geForce 5500
488gb WDC ata device
NEC DVD+RW
Creative Audigy processor

This wireless?

.... only issue is that ubuntu wont load the wireless driver..
I don't know if it's changed but in Karmic Koala you need to set up the device first by clicking on the tower in the top right tool-bar. I thought that I was going to have huge difficulties using my Nokia mobile phone as the internet connection. I actually found that it worked better/faster than the windows suite/platform CD that came with the phone (PC suite from Nokia was very tardy at times)...

First you need to identify what you wireless device you have.

Second, if you haven't already, connect it to a network/ethernet cable and do updates. You then likely find the "restricted hardware" box appears and your wireless driver is there. Just follow the prompts to install the driver, reboot x, and your away with wireless. :D

Click the menu logo (its on the far left over the upper taskbar), and this opens up the menu for you. At the bottom of the menu is where you can install software.

In essence, the first steps I do with any Ubuntu install are:

1. Pull in all current updates and wireless/graphics drivers