TechSpot

Unable to access homepage of my campus network

By shinychrome0
Oct 25, 2010
Post New Reply
  1. Hopefully IT on campus here will get around to answering my questions eventually, but in the mean time i thought i'd try to figure this out myself.

    About two weeks ago i started having problems connecting to the homepage of my school. I live on campus, and use the school's network. This is the only page that i cannot access. I can get to any other site with no problems, but this one times out every time. I cannot successfuly ping the site from my computer or from online ping sites, but i can access the site on other computers, and no one else is having any problems with it.

    The page is my.ccuniversity.edu
     
  2. shinychrome0

    shinychrome0 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Also, if i ping the site or use tracert, i either get a message that it has timed out, or that 10.10.41.1 reports that the destination net is unreachable. I think this is something weird with the campus network. I cannot ping anything successfully, or run a successful trace to any site.

    I can access the page through ninjaproxy.

    I cannot access by using a different DNS like open DNS

    My IVP6 connectivity says No Internet access in the network and sharing center - I don't know if this is relevant or not.

    and this is what i get with ipconfig

    C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : BrianCarrigg-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : cincybible.priv

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection 4:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-81-00-02-50
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : cincybible.priv
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8071 PCI-E Gigabit Ether
    net Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-68-66-44-BB
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5d07:f025:6c28:8664%12(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.10.41.61(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, October 25, 2010 10:52:41 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, October 26, 2010 10:53:36 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.10.41.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.10.20.6
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 268444264
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-4B-BB-2E-00-22-68-66-44-BB

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.10.20.125
    10.10.20.6
    Primary WINS Server . . . . . . . : 10.10.20.6
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek 8185 Extensible 802.11b/g Wireles
    s Device
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-06-4F-7E-A6-CD
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{5B07933A-BBD3-4DF0-A417-B2C791BD0867}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.cincybible.priv:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  3. tipstir

    tipstir TS Ambassador Posts: 2,393   +107

    Make sure your proxy settings on the change proxy settings on the browser are set correctly. Go to a fellow campus buddy and check their settings to see if you right ones. Then again could be the NT Security doesn't have your system or profile account in AD on the list to access the internal web page. This you got contact them about.

    this is just example:
    proxy server: my.ccuniversity.edu or my.ccuniversity.edu:8080
     
  4. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 9,343   +622

    This means your that your IP address has no routing to the site. Typically that occurs
    when a static ip address has been manually configured - - solution: use the DHCP automatic for both the IP address and the DNS configuration.

    Contradition:
    The site is at ccuniversity.edu but your domain suffix is cincybible.priv
    This will mess up the DNS lookup

    Issue: IPv6
    The Vista & Win/7 systems ship with IPv6 enabled and it only causes problems.

    see this post for how to disable IPv6
    If you read to the end, you will find that disabling IPv6 solves problems :wave:
     
  5. shinychrome0

    shinychrome0 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    How do i change the DHCP settings? I'm not even sure what that is.
     
  6. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 9,343   +622

    First, follow the link shown and disable IPv6.

    Then we'll reset the DHCP settings ...
     
  7. shinychrome0

    shinychrome0 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Ok IPv6 is disabled. What's next?
     
  8. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 9,343   +622

    good; connect to your router and get another ipconfig /all. Paste that into your next follow-up ...
     
  9. shinychrome0

    shinychrome0 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : BrianCarrigg-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : cincybible.priv

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : cincybible.priv
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8071 PCI-E Gigabit Ether
    net Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-68-66-44-BB
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.10.41.61(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, October 27, 2010 4:05:03 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, October 28, 2010 4:05:02 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.10.41.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.10.20.6
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.10.20.125
    10.10.20.6
    Primary WINS Server . . . . . . . : 10.10.20.6
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek 8185 Extensible 802.11b/g Wireles
    s Device
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-06-4F-7E-A6-CD
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  10. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 9,343   +622

    looks reasonable.

    what occurs when you issue tracert 10.10.20.125 ?

    you should see your router address in the first node of the output, eg mine is
    Code:
     1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  localrouter [192.168.0.1]
    and yours should be the 10.10.41.1 address.
    the last line should contain the target 10.10.20.125.
     
  11. shinychrome0

    shinychrome0 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Here's what i got. Not quite what i expected.


    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>tracert 10.10.20.125

    Tracing route to alderaan.cincybible.priv [10.10.20.125]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 10.10.41.1 reports: Destination net unreachable.

    Trace complete.
     
  12. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 9,343   +622

    strictly speaking, that is quite normal and if it had worked, it would have meant special work was done by the network administrator.

    with your IPv4 Address. . : 10.10.41.61(Preferred), the
    Default Gateway . . . . . . .: 10.10.41.1
    would need special routing to reach the DNS at 10.10.20.125
    (notice 10.10.41.x is not in the subnet of 10.10.20.y)

    you need ADMIN permissions for what follows:
    open Network Connections, right click on your Local Area Connection -> Properties
    scroll to the bottom (Tcp/Ip) and click on it and then click the Properties button
    on the General Tab, click the Advanced Button
    Click the DNS Tab
    clear everything that has any data in it and click the Append primary and connection specific DNS suffixes.
    Click the WINS tab
    again remove anything shown.
    [x] Enable LMHOSTS lookup
    under NetBIOS, click the (*) Default
    Click the Options Tab
    click Properties button
    clear [ ] Enable TCP/IP filtering
    click OK
    click OK again
    and again for the third time

    click close
    Disconnect from the router; wait 30secs and then reconnect.

    look at another output from ipconfig /all and ping the gateway address seen
    (should work) and then ping the DNS address shown too.

    If those BOTH work, try nslookup google.com. (note the trailing period)
    should get the google ip address
     
  13. shinychrome0

    shinychrome0 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    everything under the DNS and WINS tabs was already set as you said it should be. However, there is no options tab.
     
  14. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 9,343   +622

    I find some inconsistencies in the domain names
    Code:
    Name:		cincybible.com
    IP:		72.165.196.114
    yet
    Code:
    Checking IP: 72.165.196.114
    Name:	    oversee.yah.com
    IP:	    72.165.196.114
    Domain:	   yah.com
    In addition the use of the PRIV suffix yields
    Code:
    Name:		cincybible.priv
    IP:		67.215.65.132
    
    and the inverse yields
    Code:
    Name:    hit-nxdomain.opendns.com
    Address:  67.215.65.132
    when did you last BOOT the PC? (btw: what os is this XP/Pro, Vista/Home, Win7/?)
     
  15. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 9,343   +622

    that site cincybible dot com contains only links offsite to content at dsnextgen dot com which has a very POOR trust rating.

    I suggest
    • you need to speak to an adminstrator "at your school"
    • or your system is infected (see the V/M Forum) and refer to this thread in your request for help
     
  16. shinychrome0

    shinychrome0 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    It doesn't surprise me that things don't make sense. The network on campus is shoddy at best, and the IT crowd has very little knowledge about what they're doing it seems. The first time you come to the homepage, you have to approve the certificate for the page, i'm pretty sure it says that the certificate given is for the wrong site. I have no idea what that's all about.

    My operating system is windows 7.

    When did i last boot? Probably around 3:30 today. Why should that matter?

    And i don't know what cincybible dot com is. Where did you find that site?
     
  17. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 9,343   +622

    For background, here's some info on TCP routing.

    Given that you have an IP address of aa.bb.cc.123:
    • the gateway address must be in the same subnet as your address
      this means the gateway must have an address that matches the aa.bb.cc portion of your IP address.

      Sometimes this is your router's address, eg aaa.bbb.ccc.1

    • your gateway is attached to the ISP (or in your case) the company (or school) router(call this the UPLINK).
      Your router's WAN side address is on the UPLINK as a lan address.

    • once your system can send to the UPLINK, that router will
      • route immediately to a local system it knows OR
      • send the data to its gateway address as if to say "someone above me needs to handle this one"

    • tracert on an IP address avoids all DNS lookups and allows you to verify that the TCP link can at least route traffic correctly
      {and this is where you are failing}

    • once that works, a request to the DNS (port 53) passing a domain name, will resolve into a tcp address and your browser can then ask for a connection to it

    • if there's a bad DNS address in your configuration, you will be able to PING using an ipaddress, but not by using a domain name (eg: google.com) which predicts that the browser will fail

    Your symptoms point to
    • the DHCP is not returning a valid configuration
    • the UPLINK is malconfigured

    Let's try one more test please; get a command prompt and enter netstat -r >myRoute.txt
    please attach myRoute.txt to your follow-up
     
  18. shinychrome0

    shinychrome0 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Thanks for the explanation. That all makes a little more sense now.

    I've attached the file you requested as well.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 9,343   +622

    btw: I Should have done this in the beginning - - restart your router.
    disconnect the power to it, disconnect the computer from the router;
    wait 30sec and then power-up again, wait 30sec again and then reconnect the computer to it.
     
  20. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 9,343   +622

    hmm; puzzled and maybe someone else can explain the anomaly in the routing table.

    you have
    Code:
    Active Routes:
    Network Destination        Netmask          Gateway       Interface  Metric
              0.0.0.0          0.0.0.0         10.10.41.1    10.10.41.61     20
           10.10.41.0    255.255.255.0          On-link      10.10.41.61    276
          10.10.41.61  255.255.255.255         [COLOR="Red"]On-link[/COLOR]       10.10.41.61    276
         10.10.41.255  255.255.255.255         On-link       10.10.41.61    276
            127.0.0.0        255.0.0.0         [COLOR="Red"]On-link[/COLOR]         127.0.0.1    306
            127.0.0.1  255.255.255.255         [COLOR="Red"]On-link[/COLOR]         127.0.0.1    306
      127.255.255.255  255.255.255.255         [COLOR="Red"]On-link[/COLOR]        127.0.0.1    306
            224.0.0.0        240.0.0.0         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
            224.0.0.0        240.0.0.0         On-link       10.10.41.61    276
      255.255.255.255  255.255.255.255         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
      255.255.255.255  255.255.255.255         On-link       10.10.41.61    276
    the On-link should have been 127.0.0.1 while all other OnLink should have been the ipaddress of this system = 10.10.41.61

    I have no idea what On-link is referring to.
     
  21. shinychrome0

    shinychrome0 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    I don't have access to the router to restart it. Being in the dorms, i just have an ethernet jack on the wall.
     
  22. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 9,343   +622

    I'm done, sorry. With your IP 10.10.41.61 you *must* be able to ping your own gateway 10.10.41.1 AND the DNS addresses you are given (10.10.20.125)

    until that works, you have no access (the symptom we started with) :sigh:
     
  23. shinychrome0

    shinychrome0 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    So does that mean that its a problem with the network, and not my computer? It seems odd that any network issue would affect one computer alone.
     
  24. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 9,343   +622

    agreed, but that's the way it works.
    you must be able to ping your gateway and your DNS.

    Suggest you visit the V/M Forum and begin looking for a virus.
     

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...