Upgrade question with only a $600 budget

Hello,

I am looking to upgrade my current pc (will post specs below) and am wondering what will give me the most bang for my buck as my budget is limited ($600), and I may not have the funds to upgrade again for a while.
Current PC specs:
Intel Core i7 LYNNFIELD 860 @ 2.8GHz, 4GB ram, and a Geforce EVGA GTX 660 ti 2GB.

I was set to order a new MB, ram, cpu, and another GTX 660 ti to run sli.

My new pc would have been (this was all within my $600 budget):

Intel Core i5-4690K Processor 3.5GHz
8GB ram
ASUS Z87 PRO LGA 1150 Motherboard
Geforce GTX 660ti 2GB x2

Ive had some people recently tell me the most bang for the buck would be just spending almost all of it on a video card as thats where the bottleneck for most games is. I can see that being true but my cpu/ram/and mb are about 4 years old... I still think id get more performance for the overall package but im far from an expert and could use any advice and/or suggestions.

Also im a but hung up on going from a I7 to a I5 but the newer cores have to make up for whatever difference there may be right?

Thanks, and sorry if I put this in the wrong spot.

My current ps is 1000watt so It should be ok. Back when I originally built it I actually had alot of disposable income so I went a bit overboard.

Hellokitty: You are saying just do 2 660ti's? nothing else? Or are you saying the 660ti's are garbage, and theres no point upgrading anything else with that video card?

Thanks for the responses!

*edit* My current system would support SLI

Last edited by a moderator:
My current ps is 1000watt so It should be ok. Back when I originally built it I actually had alot of disposable income so I went a bit overboard.

*edit* My current system would support SLI