Upgrading my PC for better gaming

Hello

I'm really new to the tech/computer world, and know next to nothing about graphics cards. I was wondering if someone could help me figure out what graphics card I can upgrade my computer to. I have purchased the new Alien: Isolation game and would actually like to play it, I'm also ready to actually play a game smoothly without it freezing or lagging all the time.

Here's what computer I have so far as I know

HP-Pavilion

System Model: VD010AA-ABU p6126uk
Operating System: Windows Vista Home Premium (6.0, Build 6002)
Processor: AMD Phenom 9650 Quad-Core Processor (4 CPUs), ~2.3GHz
Memory: 4094 MB Ram
Graphics: ATI Radeon HD 4300/4500 Series
Chip Type: ATI display adaptor (0x954F)

now I know NOTHING about computers so apologies if the is any irrelevant info here or maybe even some missing please let me know

Thanks

Hey Darkeerantis what is your PSU (name and type or at least wattage). What is your MB (again name and type). How much free room you have in your case. What is your budget and desired performance.

Btw. your CPU isn't very powerful and the whole setup seems dated you might consider upgrading the whole rig.

The most important things you need to upgrade here are the graphics card and CPU, to avoid costs you could probably get an old Nvidia Geforce 550/ 550 Ti/ 630/ basically anything more capable than that should be playable, if you want smooth 1080p ultra setting you'll need nothing less than a 760. In terms of the processor, so you don't have to upgrade the MOBO, stick to AMD and a processor that uses the same socket which is difficult as it's AM2+. Some AM3 CPUs have been known to work with these sockets, but if I were you I'd get a new AM3+ MOBO and get an older Phenom X6 CPU, they're cheap and they do the job fine.
I do completely agree with Filip B though, you should definitely upgrade your entire rig soon.

Operating System: Windows Vista Home Premium (6.0, Build 6002)