Upgrading Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Neji49

I'm a bit new to PC gaming and I'm about to upgrade my outdated computer with another one. All it needs a graphics card. I'm planning to buy a GeForce 8600. The power supply needed is 350 watts. My computer's power supply is 350 watts exactly. Will this be enough or do I need to get a new power supply? (If so can somebody show where t obuy a cheap one that will work?)

Could you post your additional system specs? The wattage ratings for graphics cards doesn't seem to take into account additional non-standard components that would place an "abnormal" strain on a PSU.
High-end gaming motherboards, the latest and greatest multi-core processors, Raptor hard drives, (or just having lots of hard drives) high quantities of RAM, etc. are all examples of factors that will contribute to the draw your system places on a PSU beyond the "normal" expectations.

In fact though, all of these are the things that MAKE a good gaming system.

Get back to us with more info, and don't trust anyone who just makes a PSU recommendation based solely on the graphics card you're getting. ;)

Okay, I have an intel core duo 2.13 ghz. Currently, I have 2 gb RAM, though I'm thinkging of upgrading it. It has a Maxtor 213 gb hard drive and another 213 gb hard drive(if the power strain isn't too much I'd like to add a SATA hard drive). The motherboard is a Intel® Desktop Board DG965WH. So will I be able to use the card?

It might work... Might.
Would I do it my own system? Hell no.
I'm really afraid that gaming would put too much strain on a system that's already teetering on the brink of not having enough power, and I can't honestly say that not buying a new PSU is advisable.

You sound like you're very upgrade minded, so I'd look for something starting in the 500W range, but anything over 650W is going to be excessive unless in the future you make major system configuration upgrades.