Urgent help please regarding partioning unallocated space without data loss!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guys, new user here... having somewhat of a crisis! My PC has been running dog slow for months now, full of old data and programs that I don't use anymore so I backed all my important documents - photos, vids, software and all that - onto my second hard drive*

First hard drive, partitioned into C, D and E - all partitions deleted.
Second hard drive, was formatted, has tons of music on and now backups of all my data which is very important to me.

PC is running XPSP2.

Ok, I'm an IT technician and I have NEVER seen this happen before... I deleted the partitions off the first hard drive, leaving the second well alone because it has all my backups on there and then recreated a partition - so the first drive is now split into C and D. Reinstalled Windows and bam, away we go.

However... when I went into disk management, the second hard drive is NOT showing up!! All my data is on here, we're talking photos from holidays, gigs, photography excursions and basically my entire life on there! It would've taken weeks to back it up to DVD and I have done it this way before and it worked absolutely fine.

Now, after some frantic searching on the internet... and punching through my wall... a number of websites have suggested creating a new partition on the second hard drive, a primary partition but then NOT formatting the drive and this should then allow the drive to be recognised once again by Windows, assign it a drive letter and most of all not delete all my stuff off their.