Using multiple routers to boost/spread a signal

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys,

I'm very new to networking so please forgive my lack of understanding!

Recently moved into a mates house, the router for the Internet is a Netgear Super G and manages to transmit a pretty good signal to most of the house - apart from my room at the other side of the house.

Now, I also have the same router (Netgear Super G) and was wondering if it was possible to use this to boost/spread the signal to reach my room?
The router has one modem input and 4 Ethanet cable sockets...

Any help/tips would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
James

I don't consider networking my strongest point.

But I'm pretty certain you can't if anything they would probably knock each others signal out (if they're on the same channel).

There are signal boosters you can buy but they're not very good either, if you want some extra speed out of your wireless I would advice getting a "N" router, it's one up from Super G but you need an "N" adapter for your computer as well.

Hope this answered your question.

You're not the first to assume that if you could have two connections you ought to
get twice the download speed.

Sorry, it doesn't work that way. The issue is once a connection is made from your computer
to the other end (what ever that might be), all the traffic flows on that connection ONLY.
The notable difference is the Torrent software which is designed to make it work.

If the room next to yours is getting a good signal, it might be worth trying the antenna booster mentioned above, I believe that the one that you need would be:

DLINK - NETGEAR
WLAN Antenna Booster RP-SMA 9dBi

However, a cheaper and much better option (from a connectivity standpoint) would be to run a long Ethernet patch cable from your room to the router. A 100-foot Cat 5e Ethernet Patch cable does not cost that much and you may not even need that long of a length to do it.

dicejar said:
Hey guys,