TechSpot

Video Card Help!!!

By Emagdnim
Oct 26, 2007
  1. Well, I have a x1900 Xt and whenever I boot it up, the T_FAULT and EXT_PWR lights are lit and I get no display. I have a ATX12V power supply, could that be my problem?
     
  2. Rik

    Rik Banned Posts: 3,814

    Have you tried reading the manual that should have come with it?
     
  3. Emagdnim

    Emagdnim TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 21

    I don't have the manual for anything except for the motherboard because the computer was given to me by a friend xD
     
  4. Emagdnim

    Emagdnim TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 21

    I bought a new video and still I had no display, so I went and bought a new mother and used my x1900 on it and still... no display. Any idea?
     
  5. Rik

    Rik Banned Posts: 3,814

    You need to list your system specs including the make and wattage of your psu.
     
  6. Emagdnim

    Emagdnim TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 21

    Asus a8n-sli se
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+
    Cooler Master ATX12V 450w
    Corsair Twin x2048 (2 x 1 gig)
    Radeon x1900 xt 512 mb
     
  7. Rik

    Rik Banned Posts: 3,814

    Try clearing the cmos. Your mobo manual will tell you how.

    Has the system ever worked?
     
  8. Emagdnim

    Emagdnim TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 21

    Yeah, but my friend lives in California and I live in Washington so it was sent via UPS. I tried clearing the cmos once but it didnt do anything.
     
  9. Emagdnim

    Emagdnim TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 21

    I just googled "T_FAULT and EXT_PWR" and the results weren't too great... Most people said it could mean the card is dead. I guess i'm going to have to buy a new video card =/
     
  10. Emagdnim

    Emagdnim TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 21

    Well, now that i'm pretty sure that i'm going to need a new video card, any suggestions? My budget is about 350, depending on what my gf says.

    Asus a8n-sli se
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+
    Cooler Master ATX12V 450w
    Corsair Twin x2048 (2 x 1 gig)
    Radeon x1900 xt 512 mb
     
  11. Rik

    Rik Banned Posts: 3,814

    What do you need it to be capable of doing?
     
  12. Emagdnim

    Emagdnim TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 21

    I'm planning on getting Gears of War and Teamfortress Classic 2, so gaming.
     
  13. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 5,431   +28

    Did you even try to use the old card in another machine? Also, you'd probably need to upgrade your PSU if you buy a new card, and it also might be the issue with your old card, so try that first. How much can you afford for a new PSU and video card? BTW, which Cooler Master PSU do you have? Is it the Extreme Power version or the Real Power version?
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...