Warning cpu has been changed

Status
Not open for further replies.
Warning CPU has been changed.
I needed to put a new power supply in my computer. Now it does come back up but with this warning...

Warning! CPU has been changed. Please re-enter CPU settings in the CMOS setup and remember to save before quit!

If I click on F1 it brings me to my desktop but says I need to restore desktop, but it will not allow me to. I have tried everything to get into the setup, but have no idea how.

Any ideas? I am not a pro at this stuff, and simply do not understand it. I will try anything you say, but to please try to be as clear as possible for me. I would greatly appreciate that.

Thank you.

Wow, that's weird......

You probably need to reset the CMOS in your BIOS. The motherboard battery may have failed (how old is the computer), or the oddball voltages from a failing PSU may have scrambled something up. Usually the CMOS is reset by removing the the little button battery and waiting a few minutes, then reinstalling it. It is possible in a worst case scenario that the motherboard failed and took out the PSU. First, either dust off your instruction manual or visit you motherboard manufacturer's site and download the manual. A quick read through will get you the proper procudure for the CMO(S reset for your particular board. Let us know how you make out.

Also, recheck all of the connections on your new PSU. You may have inadvertently left the 4 pin plug off your CPU (if it's an Intel), that also might cause the symptoms you describe.

oh my gosh thank you...

I am very slow at this, I see the battery you're talking about, and yes it's possible I did not connect that white plug correctly. My daughter gets home around 11 tonight, and I think I will her read your advice and have her follow it, lol.

Thank you so much *crosses fingers tightly* I can't wait to see if it works.

I'll be back in touch just as soon as I find out :) Thanks again!

Sorry, but it didn't work...