Weekend tech reading: How Minority Report has led to bad interfaces

By Matthew
Mar 3, 2013
Post New Reply
  1. I wish I could get away with charging my clients a fee for every time they say "Minority Report" to me. I’m a commercial artist in L.A., and 90% of commercial art is shutting up and giving the client what...

Read more
  2. yRaz

yRaz TechSpot Booster Posts: 852   +73

The only thing that stands out to me is Seagate saying they will stop production of 7200 rpm drives. I don't really understand that move. Something I see all the time is people running 100-200gb ssd for their os and games then 1tb or more disk drive for storage. Still don't understand this move.....
  3. cliffordcooley

cliffordcooley TechSpot Paladin Posts: 5,749   +1,421

Interesting read!!

Reading the first few comments from - http://www.theawl.com/2013/02/how-minority-report-trapped-us-in-a-world-of-bad-interfaces, reminded me of Seamus Harper. Data port in his neck, allowed him to directly connect to any mainframe. The ironic thing about this article and the data port of Seamus Harper, was the fact that while directly connected to Andromeda, Harper was using virtual touch screens for internal investigations.

That was specifically mobile hard drives (2.5 inch) that was mentioned.
  4. yRaz

yRaz TechSpot Booster Posts: 852   +73

that's an important bit of information I missed....
  5. TS-56336

TS-56336 TechSpot Booster Posts: 571   +98

I enjoyed Facebook for a long time and reconnected with many old friends, but the constant changes made it difficult to continue to enjoy it. Zuckerberg and Co. should have known: don't fix it if it ain't broke!
  6. Cota

Cota TechSpot Enthusiast Posts: 521   +8

The reason we have bad interfaces is because most of the people are imbeciles, my collage programming teacher likes Windows 8 because its easier, yet I like the free time when he does his "better" wasted clicks.
  7. Burty117

Burty117 TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,470   +299