TechSpot

Weekend tech reading: RadioShack calls for DIY community's input

By Matthew
May 29, 2011
Post New Reply
  1. Speak your mind and help RadioShack suck less We can all agree that RadioShack isn’t exactly the DIY mecca it once was. What used to be a haven for amateur radio operators,…

Read the whole story

2. yRaz

yRaz TS Addict Posts: 958   +114

It'd be nice if I didn't have to wait 2 weeks for parts to come from Hong Kong. I hope they expand their inventory.

3. TitoBXNY

TitoBXNY TS Enthusiast Posts: 134   +17

I went to my local Radio Shack and asked the sales person if they had Mother Board Jumpers. He had no idea what I was talking about. I used to buy speaker parts to make my own speakers back in day, I miss those days.

4. I am a Ham Radio operator the shack has gone to hell over the years ,even the the store personnel don't know what your asking shame on them one time it was a hell of a good place to shop.

5. RadioShack: You've got questions. We've got dumb looks.

On a serious note, this chain is unrecoverable - it is done. I'd be very surprised if they are still operating 3 yrs from now. Online stores are much more convenient as no one is hustling you to buy shiny new cell phones or items with ridiculous markup price.

And does anyone think this is just a marketing ploy?

6. Cota

Cota TS Enthusiast Posts: 521   +8

Hackers will exist until people learn to think ;)

7. TrueBooleanFals

TrueBooleanFals TS Member Posts: 53   +6