What graphics card would my PC be able to handle?

Kenny Amormino

Hello! Thank you in advance for reading this post! Now, I am a little new to building PC's but I am wondering what is the best and least expensive graphics card my PC can handle.

I have Windows Vista Home Premium Service Pack 2
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo CPU E7200 @ 2.53GHz
No clue what my PSU is.
4gb's of RAM
Cuurent Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT

Please, can anyone help me out? My max budget is 100 US dollars. I need a new hard drive while I am at it.

No clue what my PSU is.
Thats a problem because without knowing what PSU you have there is no way for us to advise.

Look inside the PC at the side of the PSU and give us some of the details. In fact it would be easier if you took a readable picture of the label and posted it.

Would your budget be for both GPU and HDD or just the GPU?

With a 430W PSU and a $100 budget, you can't expect to get anything great as far as gaming. I was mainly curious to know if you had a bette PSU than 300W before suggesting anything. With a $100 budget the 430W PSU should be fine for any graphics card of the last 2 or 3 generations.

Newegg Search for the best cards (from the last few generations) under $100, that also require less than 430W of power.

Actually with the 430W PSU, you would be best to stay within the $100 range. Anything greater than $130 will likely need more power from a PSU.

The easiest way would be to post what you planning on doing with the graphics card. Then you could get advice on which card you would likely need.

Be fore warned that if you are planning on gaming, it is very likely you will need to upgrade PSU's as well. For gaming which game titles and what resolutions are you planning on playing?