also @ TechSpot: Google, Samsung unveil Chromebook, Chromebox with Chrome OS 19

TechSpot

what is ads8.speedbit.com

Discussion in 'Software Apps' started by ptitterington, Jul 22, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ptitterington Newcomer, in training

    My machine is constantly asking if wish to connect to the internet to allow it to access ads8.speedbit.com. I have tried to look up the address but only found references to it on listings.

    I presume that it is some sort of spyware that adware has not detected.

    I also wonder if it in the reason that this site is taking so long to download.

    If it is asking me to connect and I am cancelling, is it up to mischief when im online.

    Any Ideas

    My norton is uptodate:confused:
  2. Rick TechSpot Staff

    Do you use Download Accelerator? Speedbit is the company that develops it, and if DAP is running when you start your computer, it may be trying to connect to the ad server since it is adware.
  3. ptitterington Newcomer, in training

    Thanks Rick that would be it then.
  4. Vehementi TechSpot Paladin

    Next time this happens try changing the prefix of the url (in this case it would be ads8.) to www., this should lead you to the source of the problem :)
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.