TechSpot

What is this... I like it?

By FAll3N
May 2, 2011
Post New Reply
  1. So I downloaded and tried Path Finder.. I uninstalled it afterwards, but while it was installed, I used that menu item 'Path Finder>Hide Finder Desktop' and it like, got rid of my desktop... It shows nothing now.. No files, no HD, no external disks, no CDs.. And I can't add any visible files.. They are invisible as soon as I add them.. I can't see/edit the desktop, unless I make a new Finder window and navigate to it... but, I an save files to desktop, like from a save dialog. When I uninstalled Path Finder, this change stayed... What did it do? Did it likke modify the permissions of something? Did it add or change some plist file entry? What is this, so I can reproduce it later without using pathfinder?
  2. Mark56

    Mark56 TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,271

    You may be able to reverse the setting if you reinstall Path Finder.

    Or, you could use system restore to go back before Path Finder was installed.
  3. mario

    mario Ex-TS Developer Posts: 399   +17

    On terminal type:
    Code:
    defaults write com.apple.finder CreateDesktop -bool false
    Then to restart the Finder type:
    Code:
    killall Finder
    If you want to revert the setting retype the first command but now with `true` and restart the Finder again.

    From: http://osxdaily.com/2009/09/23/hide-all-desktop-icons-in-mac-os-x/

    Edit: I don't know if this the way Path Finder hides the desktop icons, but if you want to reproduce it this steps will do it
  4. FAll3N

    FAll3N TS Rookie Topic Starter

    thanks a lot.. yes that is exactly what it is! What else does killing the Finder do? Does it affect SSH or anything else?
  5. ElShotte

    ElShotte TS Enthusiast Posts: 163

    No it does not. "killall Finder" simply restarts the Finder process, so that the changes you made to the config take effect since it's loaded only on process startup.
  6. FAll3N

    FAll3N TS Rookie Topic Starter

    oh ok. Is there a way, (from the local machine) to close all ssh sessions and/or prohibit them from being started?


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.