Which IT Certification for me?

Not sure if this is the appropriate forum, but I'll try here first.

I've been thinking about a move into the IT world for some years. My background is in Civ/Envir Engineering, having spent many years in the private and gov't sectors. The only problem is that it's getting more difficult to find employment in that field due to the wife and I moving around every two years. She's a JAG (attorney) for the USAF.

One perk is that I'm getting education $ for the next two years to retrain. I've been going to school for another degree (Comp Sci), but thanks to this recent perk, I'm planning on attending a course (or two) specifically tailored for IT Certifications.

I'm planning to self study for the CompTIA A+ cert, i'm pretty knowledgeable in that aspect already. To start, I can attend the following IT cert courses:

CompTIA Network/Server +
CompTIA Security +
MCSA

Should I go the MS (MCSA, MCSE, etc.) route, or attend more CompTIA courses? Obviously I'm looking at this for future employment purposes, and on a global scale as we'll be moving around the world.

Any help from those employed in the IT world would be greatly appreciated!