Win32/heur and locked files

Status
Not open for further replies.

BecJoyErk

I've never used a forum before, but am thankful to find such useful info here since I am teaching in Africa & far from the help of my techie friends at home!

Before TechSpot's 8 Step Removal Instructions...
I am running AVG free on my computer, so when I first encountered the scans saying my computer was infected with Win32/heur, I read through the AVG advice on how to clean an infected computer. This included scanning with AVG, Spybot S&D, and MalwareBytes in safemode. During these scans, I discovered that AVG could not scan about 20 files in the System32 section of my computer because they were "locked". I also turned off my System Restore, since it the instructions said this would erase shadow copies that would reproduce if the scans were done in System Restore mode. After all these scans, I still am coming up with the Win32/heur virus in my AVG scans. Since AVG does not have a description of this virus (although it's listed) in their Virus Database, I decided to look for further help.

When I found the TechSpot posts regarding Win32/heur, I realized I would need to go through the 8 Step Removal Process, so I am attaching the requested logs. I am also attaching logs from the AVG scans (the safemode scan was May 16).

I think I picked up the virus through my USB flash drive. When I came home from the camera shop after printing some pix, my AVG alerted me to an Autorun virus it found on my USB flash drive. After cleaning this off my flash drive (which AVG couldn't do - I had to do it at work with NOD32 Antivirus 4), I did a total scan and started finding Win32/heur infections on my laptop.

My computer is a Dell Laptop and I am running Windows XP. My internet connection at home is through a mobile modem (Huawei), and at work I can connect via LAN cable through a secure proxy server that connects via sattelite.

Many thanks in advance for your help!!!

Hello BecJoyErk