Windows 7, connecting to server issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

ComputerGuy55

Windows 7, connecting to server issue[RESOLVED]

Ok so, I don't know a whole lot about networking and servers, not my expertise.. But if someone knows a fix/could explain it to me I'm sure I could understand..

So the problem is, here at work we fix peoples computers, I'm a technician, and we got a new laptop in, just set it up, it installs Windows 7 64Bit Home Premium.

It is under the workgroup: WORKGROUP (default) I've tried switching it to MSHOME (XP's default) Didn't make a difference to my problem. This is the first W7 computer I have had a problem with regarding servers.

And I cannot seem to connect to the server with the username/password I always use. I try it on other machines (other W7, XP, Vista) I connect fine, can see the Data. With this laptop however, I type the Username and the Password and it comes back: "Login Failure: unknown user name and or bad password."

I have made sure to type it slow, properly, and without caps lock or anything. Made sure all the keys were typing the correct letters/numbers.

When it fails to connect to the server it gives me 2 options. either type the password again, logging in under OWNER-PC\***** (OWNER-PC being the computer name, logging in under the username of ***** which isn't the actual name just, example) and I can try another password.

Second option is to type another user name and password, tried both ways, neither lets me in.

I get the internet fine on it but can not connect to the server.

I've tried a few different things such as, like I mentioned, switching the workgroup, tried wireless and ethernet, switching the network from being on "Public" to "Home" tried leaving and rejoining a Homegroup. Nothing seems to make a difference and I'm stuck

Any help is greatly appreciated, the more I understand networking the easier this becomes.