Windows 7 - various issues (no sound, can't change power settings etc.)

Hi there,

In this past week, I've suddenly begun to experience a number of strange issues with my Windows 7 laptop.

First of all, I found that there was no sound. The speaker icon has disappeared from the bottom right of my screen, and when I try to access 'sound' through control panel I receive a message which says 'Windows Audio Service is not running.'

Since then, I have found that I cannot access MS Office, I cannot change the power settings ('the handle is not valid), and when I access device manager, there are no devices listed.

I was running Avast antivirus, but this seemed to break down too, and updating it wouldn't, so i've downloaded new antivirus software and run a full scan and repair cycle. I'm still stuck with these strange issues though.

Any help or suggestions would be hugely appreciated. If you need anymore info than I've given, just let me know.

Thanks

I'm no expert when it comes to "trouble shooting" a Windows 7 Operating System, I'm more familiar with Windows XP, but if this was happening on an XP system, my first inclination would be to access the "system restore" feature and try to restore the operating system back to before these various issues happened.

Next if "system restore" didn't work, I would be inclined to try and go about re-installing my sound card and it's drivers. Maybe some how your system has it's a** drop out from underneath it, and your sound set up and drivers went bye bye.

In regards to your MS Office issue, I have no clue as to how going about fixing that, other than maybe un-installing it and then re-installing it again. I've never had to many MS Office issues ever pop up for me, so I'm a little weak in knowing how to going about fixing this. Maybe the "system restore" feature my help here to.