TechSpot

Windows 7 x64 Blue Screen IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL BCCode a

By Elderzz
Jan 18, 2016
Post New Reply
  1. So before I got blue screen aswell, when I installed a driver Broadcom Picture card xD host. I removed it, and the blue screens were gone for some time, than today I got this blue screen :

    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
    OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
    Locale ID: 1050

    Additional information about the problem:
    BCCode: a
    BCP1: 0000000000000000
    BCP2: 0000000000000002
    BCP3: 0000000000000000
    BCP4: FFFFF80003896822
    OS Version: 6_1_7601
    Service Pack: 1_0
    Product: 256_1

    Does anyone know how to fix this?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 17,244   +234

    The single minidump is a bit too vague. If you get another BSOD post any new minidumps
     
  3. Elderzz

    Elderzz TS Rookie Topic Starter

    I got another blue screen today while booting my laptop. Yesterday I unnistalled Broadcom xD Picture Bus Driver, and Broadcom xD Picture Host Controller. I am definitely sure its that driver, but whenever I remove it and restart, I blue screen. And I have to click Last Good Known Configuration

    EDIT:
    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
    OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
    Locale ID: 1050

    Additional information about the problem:
    BCCode: 1000007e
    BCP1: FFFFFFFF80000003
    BCP2: FFFFF880073A1035
    BCP3: FFFFF880037A0EC8
    BCP4: FFFFF880037A0720
    OS Version: 6_1_7601
    Service Pack: 1_0
    Product: 256_1

    I also included a file that was in the Files that might be useful section in the Windows has recovered Window. Also, I am only getting BSOD-s on Windows 7, Windows 8 works perfectly fine, but its a ram hogger
     

    Attached Files:

  4. bazz2004

    bazz2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 1,232   +201

    "Also, I am only getting BSOD-s on Windows 7, Windows 8 works perfectly fine, but its a ram hogger."
    Windows 10 came out last year and it's still free to upgrade.
     
  5. Elderzz

    Elderzz TS Rookie Topic Starter

    I know, I used it, but I need free ram for things I do.
     
  6. bazz2004

    bazz2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 1,232   +201

    Any chance of using a 32 bit OS or are you stuck with 64 bit software? Ram goes a lot further with 32 bit Windows. You could add more ram if you are going to stick with 64 bit.
     
  7. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 17,244   +234

    It is the Broadcom xD Picture card that is causing this trouble
     
  8. Elderzz

    Elderzz TS Rookie Topic Starter

    I know, but how do I fix it? I tried removing it with Device Manager, but I cannot boot my laptop then when I remove it.
     
  9. Elderzz

    Elderzz TS Rookie Topic Starter

    I dont get what you mean
     
  10. bazz2004

    bazz2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 1,232   +201

    I've drifted away from your original question so best to ignore me. I was trying to see ways you could use W10 and keep the same performance level. I'm still pretty impressed with the latest OS.
     
  11. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 17,244   +234

    Get into settings, select Update & Security, Recovery then select save, or not save anything
     
  12. Elderzz

    Elderzz TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Which settings? I cannot find them
     
  13. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 17,244   +234

    Oh this is Windows 7 these settings are for Windows 10 sorry
     
  14. Elderzz

    Elderzz TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Sooooo, it seems to be fixed, I just disabled the drivers in the Device Manager.
    Didnt Blue Screen yet, boots up nicely and that kind of stuff.
    Ill keep you updated if I get another BSOD
     
  15. Elderzz

    Elderzz TS Rookie Topic Starter

    I just BlueScreened again, same thing as the first time... pls Help me solve this!
     
  16. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 17,244   +234

    Can you post the minidump(s)?
     
  17. Elderzz

    Elderzz TS Rookie Topic Starter

    These are all minidumps I found in my Minidumps folder.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 17,244   +234

    Your computer really doesn't like that Broadcom xD Picture driver. It is still in the minidump files
     
  19. bazz2004

    bazz2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 1,232   +201

    There are a lot of posts about problems with drivers for this Picture card. The thing to do seems to me to identify precisely the Broadcom card and download the drivers direct from the Broadcom site. It's a pain that the laptop won't boot up without the drivers installed. Maybe you could work in Safemode? I found what looks to be the the page for Broadcom but the posts have not given an exact description of which card is installed. You could get that from Device Manager.

    https://www.broadcom.com/products/ethernet-communication-and-switching/ethernet-controllers/bcm57785
     
    Tmagic650 likes this.
  20. Elderzz

    Elderzz TS Rookie Topic Starter

    I tried going into properties of the driver in the device manager and I dont see the description of which card is installed....
     
  21. bazz2004

    bazz2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 1,232   +201

    Piriform have a free program called Speccy that might do it. They produce CCleaner which is legendary. Failing that you could maybe find the details in the spec for the computer. As a last resort just try the downloads on the Broadcom site until you find one that works. If none do maybe the device has a problem.
     
    Tmagic650 likes this.
  22. Elderzz

    Elderzz TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Only Broadcom driver/hardware I see in the is Broadcom Ethernet driver for network. I also Disabled Broadcom SD Memory host in device manager, but can you explain me what Broadcom Memory stick does?
     
  23. bazz2004

    bazz2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 1,232   +201

    I have no idea what it is. However right at the beginning you said "So before I got blue screen aswell, when I installed a driver Broadcom Picture card xD host." Why did you install this driver in the first place if your computer was presumably running OK? I ask because there are now so many programs being pushed out to keep drivers updated. I very much doubt if any of these pieces of software are a good idea. A few years ago it was Tune up utility programs that were being touted as the best thing since sliced bread most of which are also pretty useless.
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2016
  24. Elderzz

    Elderzz TS Rookie Topic Starter

    I was looking through the Device Manager, and that driver had a Error on it, so I decided to update it.
     
  25. bazz2004

    bazz2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 1,232   +201

    Could you roll back to the previous driver and if the problem goes away just not look in Device Manager? :)
     

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...