TechSpot

Windows 8 bug on overclocked PCs found to alter benchmarks

By Scorpus
Aug 20, 2013
Post New Reply
  1. A bug relating to the real-time clock has been discovered in Windows 8, which causes inaccurate benchmark results on over- or under-clocked systems. When a system's CPU clock frequency is adjusted from within the operating system, the software time-keeper no...

Read more

2. misor

misor TS Maniac Posts: 1,020   +153

Is it really a windows 8 bug or the benchmarks themselves have bugs for not being able to cope up with changes due to 'underclock' and 'overclock'?
    (bear with me; I'm not good at math and I barely understand those benchmarks)

3. Chazz

Chazz TS Enthusiast Posts: 634   +60

I don't know details about this, but from what I gathered from this article its a windows issue. The clock fails to track time properly. Its being sped up(under clocked) or slowed down(overclocked). Id assume these benchmarks test performance over time, or track time taken to complete a task and rely on the system clock for this data. A lot of things depend on accurate time telling . I have windows 8 with a overclocked CPU, I did this from the bios though so I don't get this bug. So ya, seems to be an OS thing.

misor, cliffordcooley and Darth Shiv like this.