Windows doesn't detect my new graphics card

Status
Not open for further replies.

tweeds1

i have about a 5 yr old compaq running xp.i had bestbuy to put in a radeon 9550 avg graphics card and i had to restore my com now windows wont detect the card so when i try to install the soft ware it says it cant find any hardware to install the software.i could use any help plz and ty.
Edit/Delete Message

im sry im new at this certin prob.this link is for hp driver downloads i dont need drivers but i dont know what i do need.

Your onboard video drivers must be fully functional, before any addon Video card drivers can be installed properly (if you have an onboard video card)

You should also update all your Compaq (being HP) drivers fully anyway

the factory card is good and i use to have this radeon 9559 avg card in but i had to restore.i know i have to disable it in the bios which i dont know what to look for in bios cus id dont just say video card.

The only thing in Bios is PCI or AGP or PCI-E addon card enabled (or disabled)

But just doing the drivers above is usually all that is required

it dont say anything about a card either .but i dont understand how downloading more drivers for my old card will help windows to detect my new card

windows still dont detect my graphics card when i put it in and boot up theres no hardware wizard plz help

Start-->Run--> devmgmt.msc

In Device Manager, locate the (yellow) queried Video Card Device, right click on it and remove it
Then restart

there is no yellow mark and it only shows my factory card.ive just been messing around trying to get windows to detect the radeon card.it was doin it earlier today but i wasnt installing it at the time and then it stop the detect wizard.any suggestions?

there is no yellow mark
So Device Manager must think it's already installed

Try this:
Remove the card
Plug your Monitor into your onboard Video socket
Boot up fully
Shutdown (strange I know!)