Windows fresh install stuck after reformat, tried almost everything

Status
Not open for further replies.

cerverus

Hello Guys,
I repair computers for living, and just as a reference of my expertise, I don't have a huge volume but probably between 8 to 12 systems every week since like 5 years or so, so I consider myself not an expert, but at least with the basic experience, well this is my first time that a problem is driving me crazy, is kinda twilight zone situation !!, here we go....
on a Vostro 200 slim tower, I upgraded a 1 core processor to a 2 cores processor (the CPU was brand new) previously I checked with Dell about the compatibility wit the MOBO, they said it was ok, anyway the system started detecting only 1 core instead of 2, so I went into the BIOS to be sure that the multi-core mode detection was enabled, so after that I performed a fresh Windows XP home edition install, using an original OEM CD from Dell.
this is the problem....., after the I passed the reformat (the slow one, not the quick), and then the files copy process, right after the first reboot, the system just keep stuck on the "cylon" blue led, and I cant pass that step. (the light keeps moving from left to roght as always and the screen saying Windows XP with the black background
What I already try..........
--I tried with 3 different "original" WinXP Home CD's, all of them with the same result.
--I switched different memory modules just in case.
--I Tried with a different HDD, same results
Next, I am planning to try with a different DVD-RW Drive unit

Any ideas?? please!!
I know that sometimes the answer is right there, and in most cases in front of your eyes, and you can't see it because your head is running hotter than the CPU
Light me up please!!!
Thanks in advance for your time and ideas

We have all been there. We know it is no fun when it is your own system.
But I would go back to the basic install before you did the updates... old processor, old memory, etc...