Windows stop error 0x0000007E 3-5 secs in windows logo

Status
Not open for further replies.

guanin

I woke up this morning, turned my other laptop, only to see it have a BSOD 3-5 secs after the windows loading logo right before user selection appears. I haven't done any hardware changes at all, and I did not upgrade from a previous windows version either. I've been using that laptop for 8 months straight without running into any problems, but when other people used it, within a month, this showed up.

I can't even check the specs of that laptop because i can't log in to windows anymore. the only specs i remember:

it's a neo m54r laptop
a dual core intel centrino (i forgot the ghz number)
a gig of ram
running on windows xp sp 3

the only thing listed under the technical information in the BSOD is:
*** STOP: 0x0000007E (0xC0000005, 0x8069B1C7, 0xBA4CF534, 0xBA4CF230)

i've tried the last known good conifguration option, still BSOD.
i've tried booting to safe mode, still BSOD.

can anyone help? i'm begging, please.

Your error is 0x0000007E: SYSTEM_THREAD_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLE
A system thread generated an exception which the error handler did not catch. There are numerous individual causes for this problem, including hardware incompatibility, a faulty device driver or system service, or some software issues.

As you can see it can be almost anything. Corrupted memory can be a cause of the issues you are experiencing. At this point run Memtest on your RAM. It is free, safe, and will engage at boot up.

See this link and follow the instructions: https://www.techspot.com/vb/topic62524.html

Let it run for a LONG time. The rule is a minimum of 7 Passes; the more Passes after 7 so much the better. There are 8 individual tests per Pass. Many people will start this test before going to bed and check it the next day.

If you have errors you have corrupted memory and it needs to be replaced.