Windows XP installation Failure on Gateway FX7026

Status
Not open for further replies.

cHaotix8

I recently purchased a Gateway FX7026 that camewith Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit. However, I decided would try to roll it back to windows XP. Initially, I tried the system boot installation but after loading the files forinstallation, I was met with a blue screen stating that I should check any new hardware settings(Hard drives) and controllers. I formatted both hard drives (both 320 gigs) and tried the install. Same error. I'm using all SATA drives (CD included), however I have tried using IDE on both CD and HD's however I always get the same error. I even went back and installed Vista back on one of the drivesand had no trouble. I have run diagnostics and benchmarks on all the hardware and it's all good. I'm just beginning to wonder if the motherboard is XP compatible which seems kind of dumb. Any suggestions?

I'm using all SATA drives (CD included)
you mean the Vista required Sata harddrive CD ?

You need to search online for the driver for your Sata drive (the F6 part) that Xp recognizes

The last part is semi dumb !
It is possible that once Xp is loaded, you may not find all the Xp drivers for your m/b, but that's about all.

kimsland said:
you mean the Vista required Sata harddrive CD ?

You need to search online for the driver for your Sata drive (the F6 part) that Xp recognizes

The last part is semi dumb !
It is possible that once Xp is loaded, you may not find all the Xp drivers for your m/b, but that's about all.

I meant that I was using all Sata disk drives. I tried the F6 driver disk at setup but I continue to get the same errors.

HI cHaotix8,

Have you succeed with FX6026 and WinXP.