Not open for further replies.

Aetherynn

I put together an ASUS P5Q SE2 MoBo
Intel e7400 dual core
OCZ PC2 8500(4gb)
WDC 500GB SATA HDD
Sony cd writer
Pioneer DVD

Problem is it boots to startup screen runs first bios and memory tests the goes to black screen and doesnt run the XP install

I can get into the BIOS and appears everything is in order
Boot order is good dvd-cd-HDD
SATA is set to IDE
i even formatted the new HDD in my other comp and yet to still no avail any suggestions?

thanks

If you are using the Sony optical drive to install, quit. Use the Pioneer DVD drive.
What do you mean by, "...SATA is set to IDE..."

i have the pioneer dvd set to be 1st boot priority, and inder the Storage configuration is bios i have the SATA configuration set to enhanced and and configure SATA as IDE still same black screen boot

It is still unclear to me what you mean by "...configure SATA as IDE..." but then I am a rank amateur. Could you please explain. It may help in getting to the cause.

Its just a setting in the bios you have two options 1 is set as IDE(default) the other is AHCI

Under main Bios settings - Storage Configuration - Configure SATA as IDE(Default) or AHCI. No idea what AHCI is so i left it alone with the default of IDE

Thanks. I have never noticed that choice. The AHCI is short for Advanced Host Controller Interface which defines the operation of Serial ATA host-controllers. The specification describes a system memory structure for computer hardware vendors in order to exchange data between host system memory and the attached storage-devices. AHCI offers software developers and hardware designers a standard method for detecting, configuring, and programming SATA/AHCI adapters.