XP and Windows 7 on same computer?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am getting ready to purchase a new computer and could really use some advice. I work from home and log into a hospital which requires that I have windows XP. I was hoping that they would upgrade soon, but it looks like this is not going to happen any time in the near future. I've tried talking with the tech group at the hospital but since I am an independent consultant and don't work directly for the hospital, they haven't been all that helpful. I'm not at all comfortable working on computers (other than my typing), so which ever direction I go in, I will want to purchase my new computer that way.

First of all, when I looked at some popular computer retail websites, I did not even see XP listed as an available OS. Can I still buy a new computer with XP installed on it? Btw, I am looking for a desk top, in case that makes a difference. I would love to get Windows 7 and am wondering if I would be able to buy a computer with both XP and 7 installed on it so that I could use XP when I was working and 7 when I was not. My questioins are: is that possible? Is it a smart thing to do? Basically, what the pros and cons would be? Again, I wouldn't want to install anything at all myself, but hope to purchase it this way - if possible.

Any advice you can send my way would be greatly appreciated. I am hoping to purchase it in the next few days and am completely lost as to which direction I should go in.

Thanks!
Kelly

You most certainly could run both on the same machine and boot them independently. I don't know if OEM companies like HP and Dell sell desktops with XP anymore (I'd guess not) but you can purchase a license elsewhere. It's quite easy to get Windows XP and Windows 7 installed on the same PC and we have a guide for that here. If it seems a little out of your league, I'm sure a local computer shop would do it for a minimal fee.