XP pro 32, 64 or Vista 32 or 64?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ingeborgdot

How much faster is xp 64 than 32? Is vista 64 ready for prime time yet? Will 64 bit make video editing faster? I have some questions on this and if anyone can answer I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks.

I think I have decided to do a dual boot and keep my xp pro and add vista on my new machine. I have never done it before. What are the recommendations on doing this?

But now for something else I am debating. I really have some important things that I can't lose. I was wondering how many of you feel about raid 1. I know, I know it is not as fast as raid 0, but I have seen in many reports that it is faster in almost everything else than a single drive.
So, what do you think if I get 2 320gb hdd and partition them for xp and vista. I use a raid 1 to make my system a little more fool proof. Then I add two more 500gb hdd and raid those to use for my videos, pics, docs etc.
Right now I have a 500gb external hdd that I use as backup with acronis and I would use that with this new system to add another line of backup.
What would be your ideal system?

Yup, Xp32bit was written when most mobo's supported a maximum of 3 gig of ram.

I think Vista 32-bit has a 3 or 4 gig RAM limit too, correct me if I am wrong.
So it also depends on how much RAM you plan on installing, and I believe that your graphics RAM counts too, for example if you have a graphics card with 512MB of RAM, and you have 3GB of RAM and XP 32-bit installed, you will only see and be able to use 3GB of RAM. Also, 32-bit and 64-bit should cost the same.

Chris

Graphics card ram has nothing whatsoever to do with mobo ram unless you have built-in graphics on said mobo.

You could fit a graphics card with 10gig of ram (if one existed) and it wouldn't make the slightest difference to mobo ram.

They are 2 entirely separate things.