XP pro 32, 64 or Vista 32 or 64?

By ingeborgdot
Oct 27, 2007
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. How much faster is xp 64 than 32? Is vista 64 ready for prime time yet? Will 64 bit make video editing faster? I have some questions on this and if anyone can answer I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks.
  2. Rik

Rik Banned Posts: 4,985

That will all depend on what hardware you have really.
  3. ingeborgdot

ingeborgdot TechSpot Paladin Topic Starter Posts: 751

I will get whatever hardware I need. Money is not an issue but I don't want a $1000 cpu either.
  4. ingeborgdot

I think I have decided to do a dual boot and keep my xp pro and add vista on my new machine. I have never done it before. What are the recommendations on doing this?
  5. ingeborgdot

But now for something else I am debating. I really have some important things that I can't lose. I was wondering how many of you feel about raid 1. I know, I know it is not as fast as raid 0, but I have seen in many reports that it is faster in almost everything else than a single drive.
    So, what do you think if I get 2 320gb hdd and partition them for xp and vista. I use a raid 1 to make my system a little more fool proof. Then I add two more 500gb hdd and raid those to use for my videos, pics, docs etc.
    Right now I have a 500gb external hdd that I use as backup with acronis and I would use that with this new system to add another line of backup.
    What would be your ideal system?
  6. ChrisLam

ChrisLam Newcomer, in training Posts: 104

I think 32-bit OSs have a RAM limit or something....
  7. Rik

Yup, Xp32bit was written when most mobo's supported a maximum of 3 gig of ram.
  8. ChrisLam

ChrisLam Newcomer, in training Posts: 104

I think Vista 32-bit has a 3 or 4 gig RAM limit too, correct me if I am wrong.