TechSpot

"Your computer is infected! Windows has detected spyware infection!"

By littlegirl
Aug 8, 2009
  1. I'm sorry to bother everyone. :(

Just an hour ago, I got this horrible spyware thing with the red X on the bottom right of my screen.

I'm not very good at computer security stuff so I have no idea what to do and need a step by step method with getting rid of this problem.
    I only have norton antivirus but it's not helping and other than that, I have no other security-like programs.

I would appreciate any help regarding what and how to install applications or whatnot that would help me remove this spyware because I am very worried.
    Please please help me.

NOTE: I've read this other post I found (on this site also) but I dont understand much. The spyaxe uninstaller site is not accessible and I downloaded the microsoft malicious software that is suggested but it keeps on becoming non-responsive and won't finish the operation,

2. strategic

strategic TechSpot Paladin Posts: 1,274

Hey Littlegirl!, welcome to Techspot! :D
    Please do us a favour and follow this link,
    http://www.techspot.com/vb/topic58138.html
    Chances will be pretty high that your problem will be solved.
    Since both Avast and Avira are both recommended for antivirus software, I would like to recommend Avira since it's faster/easier to get 'up and running'.
    Once you follow the 8-steps, post your logs and we'll take it from there.
    By the way, you're not bothering anyone, enjoy your stay ;)

3. strategic

strategic TechSpot Paladin Posts: 1,274

Hello again,
    I just re-read your post and noticed you had Norton installed, you should uninstall it. It will interfere with your Avira (or AVast) depending which you install. Lately I have been finding that Norton doesn't do what we pay for it to do (except for leading you to a great site like this;) ).