AOL mistakenly locks out users

By Derek Sooman on
AOL warned that a mess up which left an unknown number of users blocked from its IM service could take until Monday to fix.

The company regularly engages in a routine task of opening unused screen names to new users, but whilst recently doing so it mistakenly deactivated a number of currently active AOL Instant Messenger accounts, locking those users out of the system in the process. They are still working on a fix. AOL would not say how many accounts had been affected by this.

"This week, we released a group of AIM screen names which was overwhelmingly comprised of just such abandoned screen names. Unfortunately, however, a small number of active screen names were also inadvertently included." - AOL spokeswoman Krista Thomas.

Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...
Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.