SuSE Linux awarded government security cert

By Derek Sooman on
Paving the way for the OS to be adopted by governments and government agencies for mission-critical operations, SuSE Linux Enterprise Server 9 has become the first distribution to complete Evaluation Assurance Level (EAL) 4+.

SuSE Linux Enterprise Server 9 on IBM eServers has achieved Controlled Access Protection Profile under the Common Criteria for Information Security Evaluation, also referred to as CAPP/EAL4+.

The company expects a formal certificate issued by the Federal Office for Information Security in Germany to come shortly. Thereafter, this particular Linux will be ready for some pretty serious work, possibly adoption by governments and their agencies.

IBM and Novell also announced that SuSE Linux Enterprise Server 9 had achieved Common Operating Environment compliance across IBM's eServer line.

This compliance, required by the Department of Defence, addresses functionality and interoperability requirements for commercially acquired IT products, and allows Linux to be used in command-and-control systems, which represent some of the most sensitive and critical applications run by the government.

Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...
Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.