Read with Formatting | Join TechSpot! (it's free)



free computer site

blacknight705
09-04-2006, 05:43 PM
my ibm recently crapped out on me, and i don't really want to spend any money getting it repaired b/c it would probably cost more than the computer did.
so i thought about doing one of those free computer things. you know, "knock out president bush and get a free computer." i just figured that since i need a new computer right now and i dont have the funds to purchase one that this would be worth a shot.
the site i was looking at was
right now i'm using one of the worst computers i have ever used. i just wanted to know if anybody out there has been to this site and could tell me if it is something i should do or if its just another scam. i've seen the people on the news that did these sort of things and got their free ipods or w/e, but i just wanted to be 100% sure before i signed up for any of these offers. i know the deal, but again, i just wanted to be 100% sure.

any help would be GREATLY appreciated
thanks a lot! =)

Edit: Removed dodgy url.

twite
09-04-2006, 06:07 PM
Alot are scams, some aren't. Some say all you need to do is give them your email address and thats it..but that will never work..usually you have to do a long list of things..refer a certain number of people to their website ect..Personally, i would never do it..As by the end of it, they will have all of your personal info.credit card #,street address,name,ect. I would rather go out and buy a computer, rather then taking the risk of being scammed for thousands of dollars

Ad
09-04-2006, 06:07 PM

howard_hopkinso
09-04-2006, 06:16 PM
I agree with twite. That`s a scam of some description and shouldn`t be touched with a 10 foot barge pole.

There are no free lunches unfortunately.

Regards Howard :)

ZVI
09-05-2006, 03:19 AM
I'd agree with the others. But if your interested in a realy cheap low spec. computer, and live in the USA you might be interested in this link
http://officedepot.shoplocal.com/officedepot/Default.aspx?action=browsepagedetail&storeid=2480575&rapid=313180&pagenumber=1&listingid=-2094489046

Its a desktop for only $100 !!!

It is shown at a specific office depot location but I believe that their deals usually apply to all of their stores.

 Tech News

 Downloads
Copyright © 1998-2008 TechSpot.com. TechSpot is a registered trademark. All Rights Reserved.