Yahoo and Google search being hijacked

Status
Not open for further replies.

PeteU

I've followed the 8 steps to the best of my knowledge and attached the requested logs.

I utilize Internet Explorer 7 but recently search engines have become hijacked (Yahoo all the time, Google half the time). When I downloaded Firefox yesterday the same problem came up. Prior to the 8 steps I've run scans with symantec, Ad Aware and malware bytes but none of them have removed the problem.

I'm not a techie so any plain language to the greatest extent possible would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Attachments

• SUPERAntiSpyware Scan Log - 04-13-2010 - 12-04-37.log
    77.1 KB · Views: 3
  • hijackthis.log
    8.8 KB · Views: 2
  • mbam-log-2010-04-13 (11-47-05).txt
    866 bytes · Views: 2
Welcome to TechSpot, Pete. I'll help with the malware and I only talk plain language! But let me know if you don't understand anything.

First, you have 2 antivirus programs: Symantec and Avast. Please remove one of them.Multiple AV programs can actually make the system more vulnerable as well as slow it down.

The system has a malware infection called HelpAssistant. It tacks itself on almost all of the files. But there is a program that removes -most-of it:

Please print the instructions below for this program. You will not have access to the directions once you have started

Please download HelpAsst mebroot fix.exe by noahdefrea and save to your desktop
  • Close out all other open programs and windows.
  • Double-click on it to run the tool and follow any prompts.
  • If the tool detects an mbr infection, please allow it to run mbr -f and shutdown your computer.
  • Upon restarting, please wait about 5 minutes, go to > Run..., and in the Open dialog box, type: helpasst -mbrt
    Make sure you leave a space between helpasst -mbrt.
  • Click OK or press Enter.
  • HelpAsst fix will create and open a log when done.
  • Copy and paste the contents of that log into your next reply.