also @ TechSpot: HDD supply to recover by Q3 2012, prices to remain high
Welcome to the TechSpot OpenBoards. Please read the FAQ if you have any questions. Sign up or Login to participate.

Go Back   TechSpot OpenBoards > TechSpot Community > General Discussion

Begin your free trial now Pay-as-you-go options starting at $10/user/month

Warning! GMAIL phishing scam!

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 09-27-2005
TechSpot Evangelist
 
Location: has left the building
Member since: Aug 2003, 8,165 posts
Warning! GMAIL phishing scam!

Warning! THIS IS A PHISHING SCAM! Do NOT react upon it!

This morning I received the following FALSE email,
titled Account Alert from someone who pretends to be admin@gmail.com

Quote:
Dear Valued Member,

According to our terms of services, you will have to confirm your e-mail by the following link or your account will be suspended within 24 hours for security reasons.

http://www.yourUserID@gmail.com/confirm.php?email=gmail.com

After following the instructions in the sheet, your account will not be interrupted and will continue as normal.

Thanks for your attention to this request. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Sincerely,Gmail Security Department
Warning! THIS IS A PHISHING SCAM! Do NOT react upon it!
  #2  
Old 09-27-2005
Masque's Avatar
TechSpot Chancellor
 
Location: Auburn, MI, USA
Member since: Dec 2003, 1,212 posts
System specs
Thanks RBS.....good info.
  #3  
Old 09-30-2005
tomrca's Avatar
TechSpot Maniac
 
Location: sunderland, tyne and wear
Member since: Jun 2005, 1,051 posts
what does phishing term mean?
  #4  
Old 09-30-2005
TechSpot Evangelist
 
Member since: Aug 2004, 25,949 posts
This is taken from Wikipedia.

Quote:
In computing, phishing (also known as carding and spoofing) is a form of social engineering, characterised by attempts to fraudulently acquire sensitive information, such as passwords and credit card details, by masquerading as a trustworthy person or business in an apparently official electronic communication, such as an email or an instant message. The term phishing arises from the use of increasingly sophisticated lures to "fish" for users' financial information and passwords.
Hope this helps.

P.S Thanks for the info RBS.

Regards Howard
  #5  
Old 09-30-2005
tomrca's Avatar
TechSpot Maniac
 
Location: sunderland, tyne and wear
Member since: Jun 2005, 1,051 posts
that was 1st class...cheers!
  #6  
Old 09-30-2005
Finchy's Avatar
TechSpot Booster
 
Location: Lil Town named Ulverston (England)
Member since: Mar 2005, 378 posts
Thanks for the warning RBS
  #7  
Old 07-03-2006
Newcomer, in training
 
Location: Brazil
Member since: Jul 2006, 2 posts
I receive an e-mail from this person (admin@gmail.com), but not with this message, in the subject was writing: [COLOR=Red]YOU WON $500! Gmail congratulates you![/COLOR]

in the mail he put this:

[COLOR=Red]CONGRATULATIONS!

YOU WON $500!


Gmail gives members random cash prizes. Today, your account is randomly selected as the one of 12 top winners accounts who will get cash prizes from us. Please click the link below and follow instructions on our web site. Your money will be paid directly to your e-gold, PayPal, StormPay or MoneyBookers account.

Click here to get your prize:

http://www.gmail.com/members/prizes.php?sid=a3n92dj2d3&rd=us&id=23018392384378&uid=2e5a4h43u2r3u5y1c3&id =28403934224345345

Sincerely,
The Gmail.com staff
Gmail.com http://www.gmail.com[/COLOR]

SO, be careful with these e-mails from (admin@gmail.com).
thank you,
good bye.

Last edited by teteu_simon; 07-03-2006 at 12:18 AM..
  #8  
Old 07-03-2006
mephisto_007's Avatar
TechSpot Enthusiast
 
Member since: Apr 2005, 304 posts
This may sound like a stupid question but how do we know which one real or which one is fake, since the address is from [admin@gmail.com] clearly shown how genuine it is. or is there a way for those phisher to forge an email address from [blahblah@blahblah.com] to [admin@gmail.com]?

By the way thankx for the caution.

Last edited by mephisto_007; 07-03-2006 at 12:42 AM..
  #9  
Old 07-03-2006
AMDIsTheBest010's Avatar
TechSpot Booster
 
Location: United States
Member since: Apr 2006, 546 posts
Thanks for the lookout everyone
  #10  
Old 07-05-2006
Newcomer, in training
 
Location: Brazil
Member since: Jul 2006, 2 posts
When I was checking my messages I saw something strange in that mail, like the subject of the mail, google never will give part of yout money to users, its obvious.
I guess the mail can be made by everyone, because you can choose what you want to be your gmail adress, I guess someone takes and create this gmail, just to pass to people trojan and virus.
  #11  
Old 07-05-2006
akaivan's Avatar
TechSpot Booster
 
Location: Sacramento, CA, USA
Member since: Jul 2005, 620 posts
thanks 4 tha heads up..im sure it will be fixxed soon tho...
  #12  
Old 07-26-2007
Newcomer, in training
 
Location: Europe
Member since: Jul 2007, 1 posts
Well, I apparently got one of these messages to one of my gmail accounts, but it was in Spanish & then I don't check that account very much. So apparently google decided to email me to my "backup" email account, and apparently they decided it would be a good idea to do that in Korean (I may have been in Korea when I registered the account in question, or I may have told them I was Korean, who knows -- I tend to make up crap like birthdays rather than trust companies with all my private info)

Anyway, this is what the google Korean to English translator told me the second (apparently real) message said:

Under setting visit the password against you [my address]@gmail.com Google accounts the cotton lower part link again coldly. When the click chart it is not connected an http://www.google.com/accounts/[stuff]l=ko dignity link, copy URL in the new browser window and attach and. It uses Google and it gives and from it thanks. With you accounts about under relating there is a doubt fact and it visits Google accounts FAQ of site afterwords the cotton it wishes. http://www.google.com/help/faq_accounts.html the mail is the sending whole aspect mail. To the sliced raw fish shoes against this message answer back, it does not give.


----------------

I assume "sliced raw fish shoes" is Korean for phishing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mephisto_007
This may sound like a stupid question but how do we know which one real or which one is fake, since the address is from [admin@gmail.com] clearly shown how genuine it is. or is there a way for those phisher to forge an email address from [blahblah@blahblah.com] to [admin@gmail.com]?

By the way thankx for the caution.
The emails I've got from real google people are from google.com, not gmail.com. Also, rather than clicking any links (in response to a spanish email, see below) I replied directly to admin@gmail.com, and it said "account deleted") I suppose anyone could have asked for "admin" at gmail.com, or any number of things.

The Korean email I mention below is from accounts-noreply@gmail.com, which I think is also an authentic address (certainly they prefer you go through their forms & get a problem number if you are talking to them about specific bugs.)

Last edited by howard_hopkinso; 07-27-2007 at 05:10 AM..
Reply

Similar Topics
Topic Replies Forum
Offline Gmail leaves Google Labs, integrated into Gmail 6 TechSpot News and Comments
can you tell a Phishing attack? 3 Virus and Malware Removal
Warning! GMAIL phishing scam! 0 Virus and Malware Removal

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:24 AM.