Welcome to the TechSpot OpenBoards. Please read the FAQ if you have any questions. Login to participate.

Go Back   TechSpot OpenBoards > TS Community > The Meeting 'spot'

free computer site

Reply
Bookmark / Share this page
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 09-04-2006
Newcomer, in training
 
Member since: Apr 2005, 17 posts
free computer site

my ibm recently crapped out on me, and i don't really want to spend any money getting it repaired b/c it would probably cost more than the computer did.
so i thought about doing one of those free computer things. you know, "knock out president bush and get a free computer." i just figured that since i need a new computer right now and i dont have the funds to purchase one that this would be worth a shot.
the site i was looking at was
right now i'm using one of the worst computers i have ever used. i just wanted to know if anybody out there has been to this site and could tell me if it is something i should do or if its just another scam. i've seen the people on the news that did these sort of things and got their free ipods or w/e, but i just wanted to be 100% sure before i signed up for any of these offers. i know the deal, but again, i just wanted to be 100% sure.

any help would be GREATLY appreciated
thanks a lot! =)

Edit: Removed dodgy url.

Last edited by howard_hopkinso; 09-04-2006 at 07:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-04-2006
twite's Avatar
TechSpot Addict
 
Location: Tucson, AZ
Member since: Feb 2006, 1,075 posts
Alot are scams, some aren't. Some say all you need to do is give them your email address and thats it..but that will never work..usually you have to do a long list of things..refer a certain number of people to their website ect..Personally, i would never do it..As by the end of it, they will have all of your personal info.credit card #,street address,name,ect. I would rather go out and buy a computer, rather then taking the risk of being scammed for thousands of dollars
Reply With Quote
You can remove this banner by registering, join the TS Community for free.
  #3  
Old 09-04-2006
Banned
 
Member since: Aug 2004, 25,948 posts
I agree with twite. That`s a scam of some description and shouldn`t be touched with a 10 foot barge pole.

There are no free lunches unfortunately.

Regards Howard
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-05-2006
ZVI's Avatar
ZVI ZVI is offline
Newcomer, in training
 
Member since: Aug 2006, 5 posts
I'd agree with the others. But if your interested in a realy cheap low spec. computer, and live in the USA you might be interested in this link
http://officedepot.shoplocal.com/off...id=-2094489046

Its a desktop for only $100 !!!

It is shown at a specific office depot location but I believe that their deals usually apply to all of their stores.

Last edited by ZVI; 09-05-2006 at 04:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the best free video upload / sharing site? macx Misc. Software & Utilities 4 11-21-2006 12:46 AM
I need a good Free Forums Site Sir_Lancelot The Meeting 'spot' 10 04-12-2006 01:41 AM
Free music download site klmeans Misc. Software & Utilities 1 12-04-2005 06:01 AM
Hi everyone, nice site, that too for free scorpion_1112 Introduce yourself 3 06-11-2005 03:09 PM
Free Download Site of Older Program Versions marcus_damascus Misc. Software & Utilities 4 06-05-2005 02:22 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:47 AM.