TechSpot

BSoD after start-up, works after restart

By comrie19
Feb 9, 2009
  1. Recently I have been having a recurring Blue Screen of Death. 99% of the time when I turn my computer on, Windows will load and I'll log on and sometimes before any programs load, sometimes after a few minutes of running fine I receive a BSoD. Once I restart the computer works fine until the next day (or at least until I shutdown for awhile),

    The event log at the time of BSoD:
    Event Type: Error
    Event Source: System Error
    Event Category: (102)
    Event ID: 1003
    Date: 2/9/2009
    Time: 6:59:53 PM
    User: N/A
    Computer: COMRIE
    Description:
    Error code 1000008e, parameter1 c0000005, parameter2 8054b487, parameter3 ebc0982c, parameter4 00000000.

    For more information, see Help and Support Center at
    Data:
    0000: 53 79 73 74 65 6d 20 45 System E
    0008: 72 72 6f 72 20 20 45 72 rror Er
    0010: 72 6f 72 20 63 6f 64 65 ror code
    0018: 20 31 30 30 30 30 30 38 1000008
    0020: 65 20 20 50 61 72 61 6d e Param
    0028: 65 74 65 72 73 20 63 30 eters c0
    0030: 30 30 30 30 30 35 2c 20 000005,
    0038: 38 30 35 34 62 34 38 37 8054b487
    0040: 2c 20 65 62 63 30 39 38 , ebc098
    0048: 32 63 2c 20 30 30 30 30 2c, 0000
    0050: 30 30 30 30 0000

    There is also an event log from when I restart:
    Event Type: Error
    Event Source: Ntfs
    Event Category: Disk
    Event ID: 55
    Date: 2/9/2009
    Time: 7:00:32 PM
    User: N/A
    Computer: COMRIE
    Description:
    The file system structure on the disk is corrupt and unusable. Please run the chkdsk utility on the volume C:.

    For more information, see Help and Support Center at
    Data:
    0000: 00 00 00 00 02 00 4e 00 ......N.
    0008: 02 00 00 00 37 00 04 c0 ....7..À
    0010: 00 00 00 00 32 00 00 c0 ....2..À
    0018: 40 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 @.......
    0020: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........


    I have run the checkdisk utility many times with no errors.


    Anyone have any ideas on the cause? and/or solutions?
     
  2. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 11,966   +70

    With your errors do the following two standard diagnostic steps:

    First run Memtest on your RAM

    1. Go to www.memtest.org and download the latest ISO version. It is free and perfectly safe.

    2. Burn to a CD.

    3. Place CD in your drive and reboot with CD in drive. The test will take over.

    4. Let it run for a LONG time. The rule is a minimum of 7 Passes. There are 8 individual tests per Pass. Many people will start this test before going to bed and check it the next day.

    5. If you have errors you have corrupted memory and it needs to be replaced.

    6. Also, with errors you need to run this test per stick of RAM. Take out one and run the test. Then take that one out and put the other in and run the test. If you start getting errors before 7 Passes you know that stick is corrupted and you don’t need to run the test any further on that stick.


    Second, run a full harddrive diagnostics by using the free utility provided by your harddrive manufacturer. You should be able to get it off their website.


    * Get back to us with your results.
     
  3. comrie19

    comrie19 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    I burned the memtest.iso onto a disk and put it in my disk drive then restarted my computer. After a few seconds it flashed through a few screen detailing what looked like my usb ports and similar items. It then stopped with the following line at the bottom of the screen:

    Caldera DR DOS 7.03
    CopyRight (c) 1976, 1998 Caldera Inc. All Rights Reserved
    [DR-DOS]A:\>

    I havent seen anything that looks like the screenshots on the Memtest website.

    Did I burn the memtest wrong?

    Also, after restarting my computer without the disk it had become very slow, the mouse is jumpy and my wireless usb adapter isn't working.

    I've also received 2 more BSoD different than the first one.

    A device driver attempting to corrupt the system has been caught. The faulty driver currently on the kernel stack must be replaced with a working version.

    STOP: 0x000000C4 (0x00001001, 0x84AA2DDC, 0x85EAF1A0, 0x00000000)
    and
    STOP: 0x000000C4 (0x00001001, 0x855A4DDC, 0x84A6E6E0, 0x00000000)
     
  4. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 11,966   +70

    Sometimes you have to place your CD-Drive as first bootable in the BIOS. Reboot without the CD in drive and enter BIOS. Place your CD-drive as first bootable.

    Reboot with CD in drive. Does this help?

    0xC4 errors are indicating a driver verification conflict.

    By the way, I looked up Caldera DR DOS 7.03 and I am not sure if this is what you want. Googlee it and you will find more information on it. I suggest going to the forums here that deal with harddrives and ask about this program. It could be conflicting with Windows in that the latter does not verify it.
     
  5. comrie19

    comrie19 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    as I mentioned in my last post my Wireless USB Adapter isnt working now. I managed to get it to recognize available networks but when I connect to my network I get the BSoD with the 0xC4 error. So maybe that error has something to do with my Wireless Adapter. I uninstalled my wireless driver using the cd in the box and reinstalled it but still receive the BSoD.

    To access BIOS order to I hit F10?

    Edit: I guess it depends on the manufacturer. I'll figure it out.
     
  6. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 11,966   +70

    It could be your wireless adapter needs to be replaced. They have been known to go bad.
     
  7. comrie19

    comrie19 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Ok update: my computer seems to be running extremely slow. I was unable to install the diagnostics tool for my HD because I did not have the .NET Framework necessary installed (I'll try to put the version I need on a USB drive and install). I did however find a tool called HD Tune, which is supposed to be able to check my HD for errors and do a benchmark test for performance. HD Tune determined no errors or bad spots on my HD however the benchmark test showed that my performance was not very good. It seems that my HD is not corrupt but it is not running properly. In Task Manager my computer usage is near 100%.

    I went into my BIOS and checked that my CD drive was #1 (it was actualy #2 but my #1 said [disabled]. Restarted with memtest disc in drive but still stopped at same point ([DR-DOS]A:\>)

    Should I try and switch out the stick of RAM? I've been hesitant to open up my tower because I don't understand all the components. If I put a different stick of RAM in do I need to install anything or is it just a straight switch?
     
  8. comrie19

    comrie19 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Update: I attempted to install .NET Framework 2.0 so I could run the diagnostic for my HD and it crashed with the following BSoD

    Event Type: Error
    Event Source: System Error
    Event Category: (102)
    Event ID: 1003
    Date: 2/11/2009
    Time: 8:06:47 PM
    User: N/A
    Computer: COMRIE
    Description:
    Error code 000000c1, parameter1 9badaeb0, parameter2 00000123, parameter3 00000150, parameter4 00000022.

    For more information, see Help and Support Center at
    Data:
    0000: 53 79 73 74 65 6d 20 45 System E
    0008: 72 72 6f 72 20 20 45 72 rror Er
    0010: 72 6f 72 20 63 6f 64 65 ror code
    0018: 20 30 30 30 30 30 30 63 000000c
    0020: 31 20 20 50 61 72 61 6d 1 Param
    0028: 65 74 65 72 73 20 39 62 eters 9b
    0030: 61 64 61 65 62 30 2c 20 adaeb0,
    0038: 30 30 30 30 30 31 32 33 00000123
    0040: 2c 20 30 30 30 30 30 31 , 000001
    0048: 35 30 2c 20 30 30 30 30 50, 0000
    0050: 30 30 32 32 0022

    While looking up the error log I noticed 2 other errors.

    Event Type: Error
    Event Source: ACPI
    Event Category: None
    Event ID: 4
    Date: 2/11/2009
    Time: 7:57:34 PM
    User: N/A
    Computer: COMRIE
    Description:
    AMLI: ACPI BIOS is attempting to read from an illegal IO port address (0xcfc), which lies in the 0xcf8 - 0xcff protected address range. This could lead to system instability. Please contact your system vendor for technical assistance.

    For more information, see Help and Support Center at
    Data:
    0000: 00 00 00 00 04 00 52 00 ......R.
    0008: 00 00 00 00 04 00 05 c0 .......À
    0010: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    0018: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    0020: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ......
    ..

    and

    Event Type: Error
    Event Source: ACPI
    Event Category: None
    Event ID: 5
    Date: 2/11/2009
    Time: 7:57:34 PM
    User: N/A
    Computer: COMRIE
    Description:
    AMLI: ACPI BIOS is attempting to write to an illegal IO port address (0xcf8), which lies in the 0xcf8 - 0xcff protected address range. This could lead to system instability. Please contact your system vendor for technical assistance.

    For more information, see Help and Support Center at
    Data:
    0000: 00 00 00 00 04 00 52 00 ......R.
    0008: 00 00 00 00 05 00 05 c0 .......À
    0010: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    0018: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    0020: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........

    which well I scroll through my logs it shows they have happened before.

    Attached are the minidumps since my originals in the first post.

    The rest of the minidumps
     
  9. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 11,966   +70

    All errors are the same 0x000000C4: DRIVER_VERIFIER_DETECTED_VIOLATION

    This is the general bug check code for fatal errors that the Driver Verifier finds.

    All cited the same driver A5AGU.sys which belongs to D-Link wireless driver. Check this link out that contains more information. It is up to you if you want to patch it. Your adaper could be bad.

    http://projects.info-pull.com/mokb/MOKB-13-11-2006.html
     
  10. comrie19

    comrie19 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    If it's bad then I'll have to throw it out anyway so I might as try the patch first/

    Thank you and I'll report back.

    Also wondering why my cpu would be running at 100% in Task Manager all of a sudden.
     
  11. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 11,966   +70

    I would post in the forum that deals with CPUs. They can answer that question there. Let us know.
     
  12. comrie19

    comrie19 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Could you give me a step by step walkthrough of how to patch this? I'm confused by the 2 driver downloads. On the site it says download WUA....(patched) then download DWL...(vulnerable) and copy over the WUA drivers?
     
  13. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 11,966   +70

    Instead of patching throough that site I would go directly to D-Link's site and see what they have to say. Contact their tach support if you can't find what you need and tell them of your minidump reads and the driver cited.
     
  14. comrie19

    comrie19 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    That downloads from that site are actually from the D-Link website. I'm just not sure on the order or where to extract the zip files to.
     
  15. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 11,966   +70

    That website should have a Help/Contact Support link. You should be able to inquire their tech support.
     
  16. comrie19

    comrie19 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Update:
    I got memtest working (I had burned it wrong with Nero, used a different program and it worked fine). I first ran it with both sticks of RAM in and got many errors. Tested each individually and have hopefully removed the defective RAM.

    I still receive the BSoD with my Wireless Adapter but am contacting D-Link suport.

    Thank you Route44 for your help and hopefully everything will be resolved soon.
     
  17. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 11,966   +70

    One thing about corrupted memory and it is this: It will give all kinds of error codes. Glad to see you've got one issue taken care of. Let us know how you resoolve the D-Link BSODs.
     
  18. comrie19

    comrie19 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    I contacted D-Link support and they had me install and run the wireless adapter on a different machine. It worked fine. After that the only suggestion they had was do a XP Repair Install.

    I'm going to use this opportunity to upgrade to a faster processor, more RAM (since i had to remove 1 stick) and start fresh from a new XP Install. Hopefully I'll have no problems with the "re-built" computer.

    Thank you for your time and effort Route44.
     
  19. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 11,966   +70

Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...