TechSpot

Burned DVDs won't play

By Mark Fuller
May 21, 2011
Post New Reply
  1. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 20,832   +164

    I use DVD-R's exclusively, mostly out of habit now. I don't think it really matters now with which you prefer to use. I can play my burned DVD's (.iso format) on any computer, laptop or stand-alone player. I have found that if the DVD won't play on a particular DVD drive, that drive needs to be replaced
  2. captaincranky

    captaincranky TechSpot Addict Posts: 10,680   +880

    I quite agree that it shouldn't matter. However I go with what has given me the most luck, and replace the drives too.

    Oddly DVD+R blanks seem to be on sale more often than DVD-R. (?) DVD-RW blanks seem to have been discontinued. So that's a problem for my Pioneer stand alone DVD recorders.
  3. mike1959

    mike1959 TS Addict Posts: 1,060   +20

  4. captaincranky

    captaincranky TechSpot Addict Posts: 10,680   +880

    Every once in a while I make a post I regret. It seems this was destined to be one of them. A while back I checked @ Newegg for DVD-RW blanks and found none. I just checked and found 13 different SKUs: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...&N=100007591 600010534&IsNodeId=1&name=DVD-RW

    I'm still sticking to my guns about choice of Media. It's DVD+R for me, for all things DVD-Video.

    I had a ton of trouble with DVD-R blanks, but it is possible, or arguably likely, that that was caused by the, (TSST) burners I was using at the time. It's a zen thing, where the baby and the bathwater were all one.
  5. LookinAround

    LookinAround TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 8,372   +167

    Hi mike1959

    Thanks for the extra info and detail! I tried creating a new DVD again. But my Samsung BD-C5500 still wouldn't play it :dead:

    The problem might be my Samsung BD-C5500 player or i may be making a dumb mistake (or both! ). But when i re-read your post, i wonder if the distinction is the difference between our DVD players which I noted in your post about your "Lite-on recorder"
    It sounds like your LiteOn is both a recorder AND a player?
    > Your Lite-On is both a recorder and player?
    > And you said it records VOB by default? Maybe it also supports playback of a simple vob file?

    So i think your Lite-On DVD player can probably also playback just plain old VOB files (your Lite-On doesn't require they be formatted to DVD-Video spec) Which is why it works for your case but not for my Samsung. (Is just my guess, IDK for sure, but my Samsung like many home devices which are playback only and requires DVD-Video. Maybe your LiteOn supports playback of simple VOB files as well DVD-Video format?)

    Here's how i tried using Burnaware to create the DVD
    I provide a snapshot below as well. I first converted a flash file to vob (I converted MyVideo.flv to MyVideo.vob)
    > I used BurnAware Multimedia->DVD-Video to add MyVideo.vob to the parent folder
    > I found BurnAware would only let me add the MyVideo.vob file in the parent folder. It kept returning an error if i tried putting in the VIDEO_TS folder

    When i created and burned the DVD using BurnAware, the DVD-Video screen looked like below. I believe when formatted as below for this case, MyVideo.vob would need a player that can play standalone VOBs.

    In any event, this is just my best guess as why some players may not be able to playback VOB files vs. DVD-Video formatted DVDs. (DVD-Video requirements include VOB, IFO, and BUP files. Also, their filenames must also be properly named according to DVD-Video spec)


    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

  6. captaincranky

    captaincranky TechSpot Addict Posts: 10,680   +880

    Many standalone DVD recorders record in 2 formats, one is DVD-Video, the other is called DVD-VR. DVD-VR is an editable format, whereas DVD-Video is not.

    When making OTA recordings, DVD-VR is usually more trouble than it's worth. It requires players compatible with the format which are fairly rare.

    A DVD recorder with DVD-Video capability, has at least some form of rudimentary DVD authoring software installed. My Pioneer machines make an actual menu with different backgrounds and buttons, while my Toshiba just makes text boxes that you click.

    DVD-Video is the only format transportable to all standalone DVD players, so that's what should be used. There are certain low end consumer DVD-recorders that do not make DVD-Video discs. These I suggest avoiding like the plague.
  7. mike1959

    mike1959 TS Addict Posts: 1,060   +20

    Further info about stand alone DVD recorder.......
    It is a Lite-On DD-A110 DVD recorder, bought from a supermarket about 4 years ago, roughly £65. It's nothing special, in my opinion.
    I have uploaded 3 screenshots of the information created on the disc, by the DVD recorder, as shown in Windows.
    In addition, to use the DVD in the PC, it must be 'finalised' in the Lite-on machine.
    When it is, and I put the DVD in the PC, Windows launches Media player, and shows the thumbnail menu I normally see on TV. It shows the first frame of each recording, with the length of recording underneath. It's also possible to edit the name of each recording.
    Each recording can be watched by clicking on it's thumbnail preview.
    Also uploaded 2 images of a DVD playing in W.M player in Windows 7.

    Attached Files:

  8. Mark Fuller

    Mark Fuller TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 162

    Still won't play

    I tried doing the steps in the quote, it still won't play, am I doing something wrong?
  9. LookinAround

    LookinAround TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 8,372   +167

    @mike1959
    Thanks for taking the time to post all the extra info. It clearly works for you but for some unknown reason i can't get Burnaware and my Samsung player to "play nice together". Since DVD Flick seems to work for my setup, i guess i'll just stick to that for now

    @Mark Fuller
    You might also want to try DVD Flick. I found it worked for my own case
    > See here
    > Another simple guide for DVD Flick HERE tho i think you mostly only need worry about
    ..1. setting the target workspace folder
    ..2. making sure you have plenty of free space
    ..3. set the Target DVD format correctly for your part of the world
    > Re: Setting the Target DVD format. The DVD Flick guide also says NTSC is for North America. You may need to set it to PAL if you're in the EU or elsewhere

    /* EDIT */
    I remembered NTSC vs PAL was an issue for the old days of VHS tape. It looks like it still applies for DVDs
  10. Mark Fuller

    Mark Fuller TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 162

  11. Mark Fuller

    Mark Fuller TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 162

    It worked, but a couple of tracks, the sound and video were not synchronized, what do I do about that?
     
  12. Rabbit01

    Rabbit01 TS Booster Posts: 897   +39

  13. LookinAround

    LookinAround TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 8,372   +167

    I can add one more thing to try (that's also gleaned from the DVD Flick forums).

    Try having DVD Flick create a video chapter every 1 minute (worked for someone so i'm guessing maybe DVD Flick re-syncs video/audio at the start of each chapter)
    > Add your titles.
    > Click Edit Title. Click Chapters
    > Set Create chapters every and set it to every 1 minute
    > Set Create Chapters for every video source
    > Click Apply to All Titles then Accept
    > Create a new DVD

    If you still have DVD Flick questions, you're best to look at the DVD Flick forums and post there for help with that tool. But let us know what you learn and if you get it all to work, G'luck
  14. Mark Fuller

    Mark Fuller TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 162

  15. Rabbit01

    Rabbit01 TS Booster Posts: 897   +39

    Good to hear it worked. :)


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.