Cannot delete file

Status
Not open for further replies.

olefarte

I've been downloading an update for Battlefield 1942, and after several aborted attempts, (download to slow), I've got an update icon for this file on my desk top that is only 18.4 kb.

Problem is, I can't delete it and I don't want to see it there for the rest of my compters life. When I try to delete it I get a message,

"Cannot delete Battlefield_1942_v1.6.19: It is being used by another person or program", "Close any programs that are using the file and try again".

I've been having problems with this game, that's in another thread, and have uninstalled the whole game, and cleaned up any and all files relating to it, except this. For the life of me, I can't find out what program is supposedly using this. I've rebooted, still there, looked in Task Manager/Processes, (nothing evident, but I probably wouldn't recognize anything anyway, and looked at MSConfig/Startup and didn't see anything out of order.

Anybody got any ideas? Thanks in advance.

What happens if you right-click on the icon, choose Properties, and see the attributes? Is it read-only maybe??

Another possible fix is to get to the icon file thru Windows Explorer, or whatever file manager you use. Navigate to your Desktop directory, and try to delete it thru that program....

Jaguarist, it say's it's an application. And I've already tried to delete it through Windows Explorer, and get the same "cannot delete" etc. message.

Also run Ad-Aware and SpyBot, nothing shows up there.

Ok, how about just booting into a command prompt, and doing a del from there? If all else fails, that should do it, I would think?

OK, I can boot into command prompt, but I don't know what to do after that, I'm not familiar with it at all. (See my avatar?)