TechSpot

Can't connect wirelessly after update

By djhitman
Sep 29, 2012
Post New Reply
  1. I noticed yesterday that HP was auto-updating wireless updates. After they had finished, my wireless capability was gone. There was a problem with my Intel Centrino N 1030 wireless driver, and have not been able to correct the problem. Also, when I try to restart it takes forever, and I get a notification when it finally does that there was a critical blue-screen error?
    Please help!
     
  2. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,474   +329

    What version of Windows?
     
  3. djhitman

    djhitman TS Member Topic Starter Posts: 52

    It's windows 7 64-bit. HP pavillion dm4-3050us
     
  4. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,474   +329

    Great -- you can use a win/7 feature to recover the proper driver.
    Control->Admin Tools->Computer Mgmt->Device Mgr
    [+] expand the network adapters
    find the wireless device, right-click->properties->driver->Previous Version
     
  5. djhitman

    djhitman TS Member Topic Starter Posts: 52

    Ok, I've done that. Anything you can tell me about the abnormal shut-down process?
    I will unplug my ethernet cable and try the wireless now, and let you know how that goes!
     
  6. djhitman

    djhitman TS Member Topic Starter Posts: 52

    I unplugged the cable, and it didn't work correctly.. every page hung when I tried to access a different link.
    I went to the properties of the wireless connection, and unchecked the bluetooth option (which was one of the updates). I am running off both wireless and ethernet cable (LAN) right now, and will attempt to disconnect the cable.
     
  7. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,474   +329

    Use only ONE or the other but NEVER BOTH! If it's a Laptop, you can disable the WiFI with the switch or one of the model specific F-keys. The wired NIC can be disabled via the Device Mgr
     
  8. djhitman

    djhitman TS Member Topic Starter Posts: 52

    Well, if I disconnet the wifi, the wired will try to identify for hours, if I disconnect the wired, the wifi will not work. Also, when I restart to help the identification process, it won't shut down for 30+ minutes, and I get a critical error.. I don't know what to do! lol
     
  9. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,474   +329

    Fact still remains, your system can ONLY run with one or the other. If that creates issues, then we will need to work on them one at a time - - suggest the wired NIC as there's less configuration to deal with.
    that's an issue to be solved.
    that is typically a DHCP or firewall issue.
     
  10. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,474   +329

    Open the Network and Sharing Center,
    Under View your active networks, you should see HOME NETWORK (regardless of wired or wifi)
    CHANGE IT as necessary.

    If your on a WiFi connection, click the Connect or Disconnect link and then disable the WiFi device.

    Now solve the wired NIC problems.
     
  11. Darth Shiv

    Darth Shiv TS Evangelist Posts: 1,175   +176

    If you set the metric property you should be able to use both. Windows tends to set then to the same value with the auto setting so there isn't a preferred one but the wired should be preferred. Then you don't have to enable/disable wireless when you plug in or unplug your wired...
     
     
  12. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,474   +329

    Hmm. That only complicates the settup and we don't get DHCP correctly in the first place.
    That setting is in the ROUTE, would need to be persistent and that would need automation for a
    target IP which is static. TOO MUCH for this and unnecessary imo, given the easy of disabling WiFi.
     
  13. djhitman

    djhitman TS Member Topic Starter Posts: 52

    Well, I'm on a different wifi network, and it seems to be working at this point..
     
  14. djhitman

    djhitman TS Member Topic Starter Posts: 52

    This is the error I get after restart,







    Problem signature:

    Problem Event Name: BlueScreen

    OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3

    Locale ID: 1033
    Additional information about the problem:

    BCCode: 1000009f

    BCP1: 0000000000000004

    BCP2: 0000000000000258

    BCP3: FFFFFA80057FCB50

    BCP4: FFFFF80000B9C3D0

    OS Version: 6_1_7601

    Service Pack: 1_0

    Product: 768_1
    Files that help describe the problem:

    C:\Windows\Minidump\092912-16707-01.dmp

    C:\Users\Hitman\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-92270519-0.sysdata.xml
    Read our privacy statement online:


    http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=104288&clcid=0x0409

    If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:


    C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt
     
  15. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,474   +329

    Hmm; can you get the event viewer data for that failure please.
    command prompt->eventvwr.msc
    system log
    should be first error event
     
  16. djhitman

    djhitman TS Member Topic Starter Posts: 52

    Log Name: System
    Source: Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power
    Date: 9/28/2012 10:35:58 PM
    Event ID: 41
    Task Category: (63)
    Level: Critical
    Keywords: (2)
    User: SYSTEM
    Computer: Hitman-HP
    Description:
    The system has rebooted without cleanly shutting down first. This error could be caused if the system stopped responding, crashed, or lost power unexpectedly.
    Event Xml:
    <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    <System>
    <Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power" Guid="{331C3B3A-2005-44C2-AC5E-77220C37D6B4}" />
    <EventID>41</EventID>
    <Version>2</Version>
    <Level>1</Level>
    <Task>63</Task>
    <Opcode>0</Opcode>
    <Keywords>0x8000000000000002</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2012-09-29T02:35:58.348412000Z" />
    <EventRecordID>34738</EventRecordID>
    <Correlation />
    <Execution ProcessID="4" ThreadID="8" />
    <Channel>System</Channel>
    <Computer>Hitman-HP</Computer>
    <Security UserID="S-1-5-18" />
    </System>
    <EventData>
    <Data Name="BugcheckCode">0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter1">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter2">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter3">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter4">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="SleepInProgress">true</Data>
    <Data Name="PowerButtonTimestamp">129933597307078542</Data>
    </EventData>
    </Event>
     
  17. djhitman

    djhitman TS Member Topic Starter Posts: 52

    Also, I came back to where I am staying, and still have wireless connectivity problems, grrrr!

    Log Name: System
    Source: Service Control Manager
    Date: 10/1/2012 11:17:07 PM
    Event ID: 7000
    Task Category: None
    Level: Error
    Keywords: Classic
    User: N/A
    Computer: Hitman-HP
    Description:
    The Intel(R) PROSet/Wireless Zero Configuration Service service failed to start due to the following error:
    The system cannot find the file specified.
    Event Xml:
    <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    <System>
    <Provider Name="Service Control Manager" Guid="{555908d1-a6d7-4695-8e1e-26931d2012f4}" EventSourceName="Service Control Manager" />
    <EventID Qualifiers="49152">7000</EventID>
    <Version>0</Version>
    <Level>2</Level>
    <Task>0</Task>
    <Opcode>0</Opcode>
    <Keywords>0x8080000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2012-10-02T03:17:07.278451300Z" />
    <EventRecordID>43162</EventRecordID>
    <Correlation />


    Log Name: System
    Source: Microsoft-Windows-WLAN-AutoConfig
    Date: 10/1/2012 11:17:04 PM
    Event ID: 10000
    Task Category: None
    Level: Error
    Keywords:
    User: SYSTEM
    Computer: Hitman-HP
    Description:
    WLAN Extensibility Module has failed to start.
    Module Path: C:\Windows\System32\IWMSSvc.dll
    Error Code: 126
    Event Xml:
    <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    <System>
    <Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-WLAN-AutoConfig" Guid="{9580D7DD-0379-4658-9870-D5BE7D52D6DE}" />
    <EventID>10000</EventID>
    <Version>0</Version>
    <Level>2</Level>
    <Task>0</Task>
    <Opcode>0</Opcode>
    <Keywords>0x4000000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2012-10-02T03:17:04.396045400Z" />
    <EventRecordID>43132</EventRecordID>
    <Correlation />
    <Execution ProcessID="960" ThreadID="1276" />
    <Channel>System</Channel>
    <Computer>Hitman-HP</Computer>
    <Security UserID="S-1-5-18" />
    </System>
    <EventData>
    <Data Name="ExtensibleModulePath">C:\Windows\System32\IWMSSvc.dll</Data>
    <Data Name="ErrorCode">126</Data>
    </EventData>
    </Event>
    <Execution ProcessID="612" ThreadID="616" />
    <Channel>System</Channel>
    <Computer>Hitman-HP</Computer>
    <Security />
    </System>
    <EventData>
    <Data Name="param1">Intel(R) PROSet/Wireless Zero Configuration Service</Data>
    <Data Name="param2">%%2</Data>
    </EventData>
    </Event>
     
  18. kwspony

    kwspony TS Enthusiast Posts: 159

    Was the Intel PROSet/Wireless Zero Configuration one of the updates you recieved? If so, uninstall it. I have seen it install itself over the top of other wifi drivers and screw things up. you shoul have only one application managing your wireless connectivity and windows generally has it's onw app. the Intel one must have added itself.
     
  19. djhitman

    djhitman TS Member Topic Starter Posts: 52

    Ok, so I uninstalled the updates concerning the intel ProSet Wireless and Bluetooth, what can I do next?
     
  20. kwspony

    kwspony TS Enthusiast Posts: 159

    You should be able to connect using the windows connection manager. if not, reinstall the driver for your wireless nic.
     
  21. djhitman

    djhitman TS Member Topic Starter Posts: 52

    I tried rolling back and updating my driver... still didn't help
     
  22. terry5880

    terry5880 TS Enthusiast Posts: 527

    Not sure if this would work maybe someone with more experience could say but I would go to cmd and type ipconfig/release then ipconfig/renew also flush dns this helped me in the passed when I had simulare problems
     
  23. djhitman

    djhitman TS Member Topic Starter Posts: 52

    I have done that a few times already, but when I connect, the internet drags and eventually drops within minutes..
    But thanks for the idea..
     
  24. terry5880

    terry5880 TS Enthusiast Posts: 527

    So then I would think its ur router or ur internet provider
    try speed test
     
  25. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,474   +329

    Get a copy of inSSIDer and look for other stations on your channel - - obviously, pick one NOT in use nearby.
     


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.