TechSpot

Can't get wireless router/computer to function together

  1. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,449   +324

    (2) first, I read that to say you've disabled IPv6 on the laptop so the data shown here was before that . . . (otherwise disable it too)

    and the wired laptop is now working?

    The Node Type . . . : Peer-Peer may be of concern,
    but the best thing I can hope to impress upon you is
     
  2. fancywallflower

    fancywallflower TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 34

    No i have diabled the IPv6 on this laptop, I followed the steps you gave me before created the thing and put in the 0f(8) did i do something wrong?
    and yes now that i have this set up:
    Ethernet cord one: router>laptop
    eithernet cord two: router>modem
    i have internet on my laptop and it is working
     
  3. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,449   +324

    NO :) Just verifing we're on the same page :grinthumb

    to recap thusfar
    • the desktop is wired and has Internet access
    • you laptop, when wired, gets a unique IP address without an conflicts to the desktop AND it has Internet
    ps: you can see the IP address for any system with start->run->cmd /k ipconfig
    and with all systems running, DHCP will ensure each IP is unique.

    OK, As I recall, you now need to configure the WiFi portion of the router AND . . .
    to fix the DNS address to avoid the timeout (which will improve over all Internet responsiveness)

    What do you want to address first?
     
  4. fancywallflower

    fancywallflower TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 34

    Recap issue: The desktop is no longer wired, i took the ethernetport from there and put it to the laptop.. so that my laptop was wired, when my laptop is just running on wifi (like it was before) it just has the local only connection.

    so actual recap:
    • when desk top is wired via this set up: router>pc
      router> modem
      it has internet, the laptop only has a local connection when trying to connect wirelessly
    • when laptop is wired via this set up: router>laptop,
      router>modem it has internet and desktop doesnt(as it isnt connected to anything)
    • when hardwired this way: Ethernet cord one: router>pc
      ethernet cord two: router>laptop
      ethernet cord three: modem>router
      laptop maintains Internet access and on the desktop i get the "ip adress conflict" message. and my internet on the laptop slows down considerably and webpages wont load on a first atemtp (like i came in here to edit and add *third point, and when i saved it tooke me to the "yahoo search page coudlnt be loaded" and it was extreemly slow)
     
  5. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,449   +324

    • expected that and we need to config the router
      yep!
      this should work!
      (AA) suspect DHCP setup on both the desktop and the laptop
      that's a consequence
    on (AA), leave both systems wired to the router
    on each, use start->run->cmd /k ipconfig and note the ip-addresses for each system ....
     
  6. fancywallflower

    fancywallflower TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 34

    ok i typed in /k ipconfig and it told me it wasnt a recognized command so i just did the ipconfig /all>mytcp.txt again here it is forthe LAPTOP:
    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Nance-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Peer-Peer
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Ralink 802.11n Wireless LAN Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-2B-33-C4-B6
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::887c:887e:3018:2302%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, March 24, 2011 12:06:01 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, March 25, 2011 12:06:00 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 201335851
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-10-F5-BC-CC-00-1D-72-F0-E0-AD
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Generic Marvell Yukon 88E8071 based Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-72-F0-E0-AD
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::7559:e9b7:ee40:4d98%10(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.64(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, March 24, 2011 1:39:49 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, March 25, 2011 1:39:49 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234888562
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-10-F5-BC-CC-00-1D-72-F0-E0-AD
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{15A29B61-5104-42C5-AE3D-740B9345AA2C}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:2834:3e85:b54f:a35a(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2834:3e85:b54f:a35a%13(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{133AEB43-AC66-4377-A471-7D6C57B7E144}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    And here it is for the desktop while the desktop is connected:

    Windows IP Configuratoin

    Host Name. . . . . . . . . . . . : Gary Jones-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . :
    Node Type. . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . .:No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description: Realtek RTL8101E Family PCI-E Fast Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.0)
    Physical Address: 00-21-97-32-B3-6E
    DHCP Enabled: Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled: Yes
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 adress: 169.254.102.11 (tentative)
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway:
    NetBIOS over Tcpip: Enabled
     
  7. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,449   +324

    We need to stay on the wired config and jump to wifi only when the wired is working correctly - - please?
    should have been cmd /k ipconfig but you got the ans anyway :)

    REALLY would like to solve the IP Conflict issue and that requires both the desktop & laptop to be wire and active at the same time; but ...

     
  8. fancywallflower

    fancywallflower TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 34

    only when the wired is working correctly - - please?
    should have been cmd /k ipconfig but you got the ans anyway :)

    REALLY would like to solve the IP Conflict issue and that requires both the desktop & laptop to be wire and active at the same time; but ...[/QUOTE]

    ok i have both the laptop and the desktop still wired, i have made sure on both pcs that IPv6 IS disabled and rebooted them this is the new ipconfig for my laptop>

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Nance-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Peer-Peer
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Ralink 802.11n Wireless LAN Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-2B-33-C4-B6
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Generic Marvell Yukon 88E8071 based Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-72-F0-E0-AD
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::7559:e9b7:ee40:4d98%10(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.64(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, March 24, 2011 3:27:46 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, March 25, 2011 3:27:45 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234888562
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-10-F5-BC-CC-00-1D-72-F0-E0-AD
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{15A29B61-5104-42C5-AE3D-740B9345AA2C}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:2834:3e85:b54f:a35a(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2834:3e85:b54f:a35a%13(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{133AEB43-AC66-4377-A471-7D6C57B7E144}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    and this is the one for the desktop:

    Windows IP Configuratoin

    Host Name :Gary Jones PC
    Primary Dns Suffix:
    Node Type: Hybrid
    IP routing Enabled: NO
    WINS Proxy Enabled: No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix:
    Description: Realtek RTL8101E Family PCI-E Fast Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.0)
    Physical Adress: 00-21-97-32-B3-6E
    DHCP Enabled: yes
    AutoConfiguratoin Enabled: yes
    Defualt Gateway:
    NetBIOS over Tcpip: enabled

    i have noticed that now on the desktop its not giving me an IP adress AT ALL but i am still getting the "IP adress conflict message on the desktop. Now to actually be able to POST this reply i have to unhook the desktop from the router or it iwll just continue to go to "yahoo! cannot display the webpage" because it is so slow or something else is interupting it, im not sure which. but i will plug it back in as soon as i post (note i only take it out the moment before i "submit reply")
     
  9. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,449   +324

    access your router (with a wired connection only) and DISABLE WiFi - - bet you have an insecure connection and someone is riding on it! Another reason to work on one interface at a time.
     
  10. fancywallflower

    fancywallflower TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 34

    wifi disabled, now what? i am going to have to get off the pc soon and will be off untill tomorrow.
     
  11. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,449   +324

    see you tomorrow - - I've got work to do too :)
     
     
  12. fancywallflower

    fancywallflower TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 34

    my grandmother is saying she is going to get an AT&T router (what i do not want do) because she is getting frustrated (even though I'm the one doing the work..) do we just need to go ahead and get it, do i need to undo the settings i have done for IPv6? I want to keep working i know i hve a good router and i want to just keep fixing it, but well she doesnt see it that way. If i cant get this fixed like now/today shes going bak to at&t
     
  13. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,449   +324

    Waste of time, effort & money.

    We are adjusting the settings in the computer(s), and very little to do with the router per se.

    Yes, this router can have issues, but we're going to have to configure this one or any other, so why bother . . . .
     
  14. fancywallflower

    fancywallflower TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 34

    i dont want to do the at&t thing, i want to fix the one and all the issues i have, but she is getting frustrated, so what do I need to do to fix this?
     
  15. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,449   +324

    First, explain the work is necessary regardless, so we might as well continue - - "Please be patient"

    here's the WIRED setup that needs to be fixed before we proceed to getting the WiFi enable and secured properly;
    Code:
    modem===router
                |
                +----- wired --- desktop
                |
                +------wired ---- laptop
    a) connect the desktop by itself and get Internet access working
    b) leave it running, add the laptop and (i) verify the desktop is still correct and (ii) get the laptop running with Internet service too.

    THEN and only then will we address configuring the WiFi portion of the router.

    So get the setup and report the status of (a) and ignore the laptop for now.
     
  16. fancywallflower

    fancywallflower TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 34

    that is the current connection:
    modem==router
    router(ethernet cord2)>desktop
    router(ethernet cord 3)>laptop

    Dekstop has internet and it is running at speeds it should be, but i have just turned the laptop on, and i expect it will be slowing down, since the laptop is trying to access the internet via the wired connection (local only is what it is telling me). Let me be clear the computer I currently have internet on is the Desktop
    the laptop is wired, bbut getting only the local only connection.
    are we set to get everything going?
    (wifi has been disabled)
     
  17. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,449   +324

    That is good information and we can work with that. Now leave that desktop alone.
    (btw: more device connections do not imply a network slowdown), so just report status and let's get started - - -

    Issue: Laptop is showing Local only. That says it can't find the router and its DHCP service. Leaving everything on the desktop alone, go to the laptop, get the ipconfig /all data and paste it into your follow-up . . .
     
  18. fancywallflower

    fancywallflower TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 34

    ok i have ipconfig data.. on my laptop...i tried opening filesharing to acess it so i could paste it here, and it wont let me, it says check the name (its right) and check to make sure it is connected to the network (according to the desktop i am, but according to the laptop im not im on an "unidentified network"
    so here it is all typed up:

    WIndows IP configuration. . . . . :Nance-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix:. . . . . . . . . .:
    Node Type: . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .: peer-peer
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . . .: No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    WIrless LAN adapter Wirelss Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . .. . .. . . . :Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix.:
    Description. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .: Ralink 802. 11n Wireless LAN Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . . : 00-24-2B-33-C4-B6
    DHCP Enabled . . . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled. . . . : Yes

    Ehternet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connectoin-specific DNS Suffix:
    Description. . . . . . : Generic Marvell Yukon 88E807 based Ethernet Controller
    Physical Adress . . . . . : 00-1D-72-F0-E0-AD
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled: Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address. . . . . . : fe80: :7559: e9b7" 4d98%10 (preferred)
    Default Gateway:
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .: 234888562
    DHCPv6 Client DUID . . . . . . . . . .:00-01-00-01-10-F5-BC-CC-00-1D-72-F0-E0-AD
    DNS Servers. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0 : 0 :0 : ffff : :1%1
    fec0: 0: 0: ffff : : 2%1
    fec0 :0 :0 :ffff : :3%1

    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . . . :enabled

    Tunnel Adapter Local Area COnnection* 6:

    Media State: Media Disconnected
    Connetctoin-specific DNS Suffix:
    Description: isatp. {15A29B61-5104-42C5-AE3D-740B9345AA2C}
    Physical Address: 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled: No
    Autoconfiguration enabled: Yes

    Tunnel Adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State: Media Disconnected
    Connection specific DNS Suffix:
    Description: Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address: 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled: No
    Autoconfiguration enabled: Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11
    Media State: Media Disconnected
    Connection specific DNS Suffix:
    Description: isatap. {133AEB43-AC66-4377-A471-7D6C57B7E144}
    Physical Adress: 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabed: No
    Autoconfiguration enabled: Yes
     
  19. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,449   +324

    that's right; local means nada and not file sharing either
    OK, see the IPv6? disable it on the laptop - -
     
  20. fancywallflower

    fancywallflower TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 34

    ok what part of I did what you told me to are you missing; I went to "regedit" found the folder sections you told me two> typed in the 8f's exited and rebooted i dont know why it is still saying its enabled i dont know what im doing wrong.
     
  21. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,449   +324

  22. fancywallflower

    fancywallflower TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 34

    I mispelled it to begin with "DisableComponents' not DisabledComponents" i cant belive it took me two days to realise I had a spelling error.. i feel about stupid right now.
     
  23. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,449   +324

    also need to change NodeType

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\NetBT\Parameters\

    set NodeType = 8
     
  24. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,449   +324

    that's ok - - life with Windows :)

    so where are we on the laptop?
     
  25. fancywallflower

    fancywallflower TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 34

    need a clarification
    1. on my System/currentcontrolset\services\ netbt (looks just like that am i in the right place?) and i dont see just "node type" i see "DhcpNodeTpe".. again am i in the right place? and all i type is "8" and reboot?
     


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.