Configuring MySql on EasyPhp

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a beginner programmer. I wanted to set up a web server on my Windows PC to help teach myself PHP and MySql. I installed Easy PHP and I ran a test phpinfo.php file which ran properly. However, when I tried to configure MySQL I got a beep and a command line that popped up and disappeared.

I tried typing "C:\Program Files\EasyPHP-5.3.2i\mysql\bin\mysql.exe" -uroot. It beeped and disappeared which I think means I cannot access the MySQL server.

Any advice? Please be very basic in your explanation (I'm a beginner trying to learn)

I ran a test phpinfo.php file which ran properly.
'Properly' must be something like
your personal pc is at some specific LAN address line 192.168.1.3
and with your webserver running (eg: net start apache2)
accessing http://192.168.1.3/phpinfo.php
returns the php config info​

If that's all correct, then your apache2\config\httpd.conf file is correct

Just like Apache (or any other webserver) is a service, MySQL is also a service, so
first, you need to be able to 'net start MySQL' successfully; eg
C:\Documents and Settings\Jeff\>net start mysql
The MySQL service is starting.
The MySQL service was started successfully.​

Once that works, you couple the webserver to the MySQL by adding the hook for MySQL
in the PHP.INI file by enabling
;extension=php_mysql.dll <<​
(remove the leading ';')

now you can user the PHP interface to MySQL

Error says access denied

Is there some reason I would be denied access to the MySQL server before I've had a chance to configure it. How do I fix that?

did it EVER work or did you EVER configure it when it was first installed?