Cooler Master 500 PSU amperage?

Status
Not open for further replies.
what will happen if you are using a APC Back-UPS RS 800VA 230V with Cooler master extreme power 500w (RP-500-PCAR) PSU

the label behind my UPS says it has a 3.5A max output where as my PSU's input requirement is 6.3A@230Vac. i have been using this setup for almost 2 years but now my UPS has stopped working. After powering on the UPS continuously beeps and the red "overload" indicator starts flashing (the technical support confirmed its a permenant damage and requires replacement).

the website has conflicting information on the ammpere rating, the manual and the rear (www apcmedia com/salestools/ASTE-6Z7V4E_R1_EN.pdf) of my UPS mentions it's 3.5A but the technical specs here www apc com/resource/include/techspec_index.cfm?base_sku=BR800-IN says the output is 6A.

now which is right and where can i find the exact details of my UPS. tried to contact the online chat support but there is no representative and the email response link is also down.

so could low ampere ouput cause damages to PSU? after the replacement can i continue using the same UPS or should i choose a higher specification model please help

Vivek

sorry this is a double post, i changed the subject which resulted in a duplicate post

The 6A rating you see as part of the technical specs is for the connectors, not for the output power of the UPS IMO.

Insufficient power will not damage your PSU as much as it will damage your UPS via an overload. This is probably why it is not working anymore and the "Overload" light is flashing. Your PSU will try to pull as much power as it needs to convert to DC, and nothing more. Have you recently upgraded your system with a more powerful GPU, CPU or more HDDs? That may be the reason for the overload.